Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.
Satomy
Posts: 69
Joined: 07 Apr 2016, 08:33
8
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Italy

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by Satomy »

Schorsch wrote:Thank you - but writing this in english would be nice (Grazie - ma scriverlo in inglese sarebbe bello)
you are right, sorry
User avatar
SuperStage
Posts: 137
Joined: 06 May 2019, 17:14
5
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3
Location: Vancouver
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 138 times
Canada

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by SuperStage »

Check out the Anderton's demo of the Aux Keyboard functionality which he talks about all the different ways you could connect to multiple external midi keyboard. at around the 24 minute mark.
SuperStage

Vancouver, Canada
Nord Stage 4 Compact, Nord Stage 3 Compact, Nord Electro 5D, Korg D-1, 1959 Hammond B3, 1965 Leslie 122A
giotast
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Nov 2012, 19:47
11
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1
Has thanked: 1 time
Italy

Re: Utilizzo di NORD STAGE 4 con tastiera midi esterna

Post by giotast »

Hi everyone, can anyone tell me if it is possible to turn on and off the various sections, organ....piano...synth with an external midi controller because I checked the manual and there is no CC to do this
Thank you
improkeys
Posts: 5
Joined: 31 Mar 2023, 21:26
1
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Germany

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by improkeys »

What I discovered: using only the AuxKB function, I am able to play any layer/section with an external KB. But the NS 4 does not respond to Modwheel, Pichtbend or Aftertouch. I sent a message to Clavia. I think the midi implementation is not complete.
User avatar
taxman
Posts: 141
Joined: 11 Aug 2011, 15:45
12
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand
Has thanked: 101 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Germany

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by taxman »

Do you mean the wheels and stick of the Stage or those of the midikeyboard? The only controllers which should work are those of the midikeyboard (for the external choice ). Like the dual kbmode on the stage3.
Last edited by taxman on 01 Apr 2023, 02:00, edited 1 time in total.
Satomy
Posts: 69
Joined: 07 Apr 2016, 08:33
8
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Italy

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by Satomy »

I have news about my case. By doing other tests, I was able to verify that if I use organ B, it is possible to control and receive from the external midi keyboard all the various controls of the drawbars, on/off vib/chorus, on/off percussion, rotary fast/slow, drive, etc. ... If instead I use organ A, I can control only fast/slow rotary and only 1 drawbar. In both cases the problem remains of the volume control which acts simultaneously in A and B. Nothing to do instead for the synth section, I still don't receive the midi controls assigned: filter freq, resonance, etc... and the usual problem of the volume control that acts in all three layers of the synth section instead of acting independently. Finally, still speaking of the use of the various aux kb with an external midi keyboard, I confirm the fact that it does not receive the picth bend, modwheel and aftertouch controls. This is definitely a bug that I have already reported to Nord
User avatar
FZiegler
Donator
Posts: 2490
Joined: 15 Dec 2019, 02:41
4
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Location: Germany south-west
Has thanked: 663 times
Been thanked: 843 times
Contact:
Germany

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by FZiegler »

The first issue sounds like Nord reused code from the NS3: There, only panel B was prepared for DualKB (which is similar to Ext KB).
Stage 3 Compact (Rev.B 2.1 - OS 2.60) - Kawai VPC1 / Yamaha CP33 - Hall of Fame & NeoVent2 - Behringer Flow-8 - K&M stands 18820+18811 / 18953+18952 - Samsung tablet with MobileSheetsPro & AirTurn Duo200 - QSC K8.2s / Fischer InEars
improkeys
Posts: 5
Joined: 31 Mar 2023, 21:26
1
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Germany

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by improkeys »

taxman wrote:Do you mean the wheels and stick of the Stage or those of the midikeyboard? The only controllers which should work are those of the midikeyboard (for the external choice ). Like the dual kbmode on the stage3.
Hey taxman, thanks! In fact it still responses to the NS4 wheels even when on AuxKB mode (when pitchstick is enabled), but it doesn’t respond to the wheels etc on the external KB.

On my Stage 2 it behaves as you described and how I would expect it to.
Swampfox
Donator
Posts: 71
Joined: 24 Feb 2022, 04:46
2
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 13 times
United States of America

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by Swampfox »

Satomy wrote: and the usual problem of the volume control that acts in all three layers of the synth section instead of acting independently.
Out of curiosity, have you tried assigning a separate midi channel to each layer, including AuxKB, and then trying to issue whatever midi commands you want to send? I really wish Clavia would write a technical white paper for their more complicated boards, it would make it way easier to understand why they behave the way they do or when there is a bug if you knew what the engineers where thinking when they were designing the thing.
Satomy
Posts: 69
Joined: 07 Apr 2016, 08:33
8
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Italy

Re: Using NORD STAGE 4 with external midi keyboard

Post by Satomy »

Swampfox wrote:
Satomy wrote: and the usual problem of the volume control that acts in all three layers of the synth section instead of acting independently.
Out of curiosity, have you tried assigning a separate midi channel to each layer, including AuxKB, and then trying to issue whatever midi commands you want to send? I really wish Clavia would write a technical white paper for their more complicated boards, it would make it way easier to understand why they behave the way they do or when there is a bug if you knew what the engineers where thinking when they were designing the thing.
Yes I have already tried this too, from the tests done, I can only receive the various midi controls if I use midi global, but obviously I don't need this....... it is certainly a bug or a midi system still incomplete and which will probably be completed or fixed in the next updates. I await news from the Nord
Post Reply