Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Share and download User samples and project files (*.nsmp, *.nsmp3, *.nsmp4, *.nsmproj)"
Forum rules
How to get the MP3-Player:
Upload a MP3 file where you play some notes using your sample.
Click the "PLACE INLINE" button after uploading the MP3 sample in order to automatically create a Flash MP3 player in your post!
Also check the Forum Rules, in particular rule #6 about the sharing of patches and samples.
Post Reply
futschikato
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Dec 2022, 14:25
1
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by futschikato »

I have tried a few things and now use signet instead of r8brain to convert the sample rate. And now the fixloop works perfectly!
Apparently signet can handle the loop points better than r8brain.

https://github.com/SamWindell/Signet
Attachments
fixloop.png
fixloop.png (18.24 KiB) Viewed 1360 times
signet.png
signet.png (75.44 KiB) Viewed 1360 times
These users thanked the author futschikato for the post:
FZiegler
User avatar
Eriknie
Patch Creator
Posts: 147
Joined: 14 Jan 2014, 13:01
10
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by Eriknie »

Nice! Good to hear that it's working.
NP5-73, NS3C
QSheets: The fastest sheet display tool in the world that plays Audio and send Program Changes: https://QSheets.eriknie.synology.me
FixLoop: Add Loop Points of Wav Files into the Nord Sample Editor: https://github.com/erik-nie/FixLoop-NSE
tsss27
Patch Creator
Posts: 338
Joined: 14 Nov 2019, 07:38
4
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by tsss27 »

Has anyone found any other nice tools to (automatically / semi automatically) create loop points / crossfades aside from the Endless Wav one linked in the original post, for Windows?
I found one more free one, Loop Auditioneer.

The problem is neither of these applications are accessible for blind users. I have a very old one called Extreme Sample Converter which can sometimes find good loops, but it struggles on more complex stereo sources like pads, evolving sounds etc.
It is better for me to find something that does this in a wav or similar file, as opposed to the Nord editor which isn't going to export loop points to anything other than a Nord file, which of course prevents the samples from being loaded into any other synths without finding loops again.

I suspect 99% of people just use the Nord editor but surely some people have put samples into other keyboards before too and if loops had to be determined I'm curious what was used.
User avatar
Eriknie
Patch Creator
Posts: 147
Joined: 14 Jan 2014, 13:01
10
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by Eriknie »

Perhaps you can contact the developer of Endless Wav, seems still active in developing. Perhaps he can add some hooks that make it usable for blind users. It might also help others.
I used to use Extreme Sample Converter when I was using Kurzweil synths. So many difficult steps to get multi-velocity samples in.

Nord Sample Editor is fantastic and easy to use, they could easily add the option to read the loop-points in the input files and use those.
I have many sample sets that are looped, re-looping is difficult, that is why I wrote my Python program. An extra step, but easy to use (Once you install Python and get the path right etc...)
NP5-73, NS3C
QSheets: The fastest sheet display tool in the world that plays Audio and send Program Changes: https://QSheets.eriknie.synology.me
FixLoop: Add Loop Points of Wav Files into the Nord Sample Editor: https://github.com/erik-nie/FixLoop-NSE
florence
Patch Creator
Posts: 343
Joined: 20 Jul 2019, 14:51
4
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 322 times
Contact:

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by florence »

hi

nice tool, are you owning wavfile.py too?

I used it and found few balises that are missing, and failed to extract the loop details.

But thanks for this nice helper, really time saving.
Last edited by florence on 08 Apr 2023, 19:37, edited 1 time in total.
My free online tool to view Nord Stage programs https://ns3-program-viewer.glitch.me
User avatar
Eriknie
Patch Creator
Posts: 147
Joined: 14 Jan 2014, 13:01
10
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by Eriknie »

Not sure how I can help. You need to get the enhanced version of wavefile.py as described in the github link (see first post), i do not own that version. Is open source as far as I know.
What do you mean with balises?

If you can clearify your question I can try to help.
Erik
NP5-73, NS3C
QSheets: The fastest sheet display tool in the world that plays Audio and send Program Changes: https://QSheets.eriknie.synology.me
FixLoop: Add Loop Points of Wav Files into the Nord Sample Editor: https://github.com/erik-nie/FixLoop-NSE
cgrafx
Posts: 901
Joined: 22 Aug 2015, 08:48
8
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3
Location: Northern California
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 294 times
Contact:

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by cgrafx »

florence is French, so from french to english Balises -> Tags....

"I used it and found few tags that are missing,"

just guessing.
Last edited by cgrafx on 09 Apr 2023, 18:50, edited 1 time in total.
Current Gear: NS3C, Alesis QS6.1, QS7.1 & QS8.2, Hammond B3 with Leslie 122, Yamaha CP70, Yamaha C3 6' Grand, Roland D-05, Roland AX-Edge, Waldorf Blofeld Keyboard, Behringer Arp Odyssey
florence
Patch Creator
Posts: 343
Joined: 20 Jul 2019, 14:51
4
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 322 times
Contact:

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by florence »

hi,

sorry yes I wrote this message to quickly, my brain had no time to do the right translation :roll: :roll: :roll:

Silently some files failed to read loop information. Output was only 'filename' has no loops, but I suspected that they contain looping information. I run the code in debug mode to understand the issue. Here my proposal to be able to read more wav files.

- fixloop.py: changed the line 24/25 to

Code: Select all

        except Exception as err:
            print(f"{filename=} Unexpected {err=}, {type(err)=}")
- and in wavfile.py, added few unnecessary tags to be able to skip them, changes here here. Maybe even better solution is to skip all unknown tags by default...
My free online tool to view Nord Stage programs https://ns3-program-viewer.glitch.me
User avatar
Eriknie
Patch Creator
Posts: 147
Joined: 14 Jan 2014, 13:01
10
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by Eriknie »

hi Florence,

Thanks for the debugging and solution. I've committed the action to fixloop.py.
I've limited test wav files, so any new insights are welcome.

Erik
NP5-73, NS3C
QSheets: The fastest sheet display tool in the world that plays Audio and send Program Changes: https://QSheets.eriknie.synology.me
FixLoop: Add Loop Points of Wav Files into the Nord Sample Editor: https://github.com/erik-nie/FixLoop-NSE
tsss27
Patch Creator
Posts: 338
Joined: 14 Nov 2019, 07:38
4
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Nord Sample editor importing samples with loop points!!!

Post by tsss27 »

As far as I am aware, the errors occured with some of my .wav files; Florence was helping me make some nsmp files, as Nord Sample Editor is not accessible for blind users and most of my samples already had loop metadata from elsewhere.

I don't know which samples were causing the problem, but here's the whole archive. It's just a bunch of old Roland and Korg samples.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/ltn3mq
But hopefully it helps you track down the issue?
Post Reply