New RCF TT-08a II - Help!

All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.
Drayman
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

New RCF TT-08a II - Help!

Post by Drayman »

Hi all,

I hope this is the right place for this post. I’m new to the board but have been lurking for a while, soaking up some of the great knowledge you all confer so kindly on us noobs. After a long hiatus, I started playing again at 63. Got involved in a punk/new wave band- something I thought I’d never do. And I’m sure I’ll be getting back to my roots with these or other band mates soon. I have a Mason Hamlin AA grand and a couple Yamaha digitals at home, and they’re great. I’m a piano, Rhodes and organ guy by birth, so I couldn’t resist the Stage 3 with 2GB of gorgeous acoustic and electric piano samples- and an organ engine- and a synthesizer! And I’m even getting a handle on the synths for those 80’s guys. Still, reproducing acoustic piano at practice and on stage seems to be the holy grail for me. So the NS3 was the obvious choice for my situation. I can midi the Yamaha P-155 digital for the graded hammer action if I miss the real piano keys too much. Which brings up amplification.

I was running the NS3 Compact stereo through a great old 1970’s McIntosh amp with some pretty cruddy old speakers. Not bad, but not the grail, either. A real pronounced dead spot at the crossover point around C3. So, after reading a lot here by cphollis, Rusty Mike, et al, and at Chuck’s excellent blog, I finally bit the bullet and got a pair of RCF TT-08a II’s. You only live once, right? And we all know grails are not cheap! (Thanks, Chuck- I think…:) Literally got them yesterday. My questions are about the human interface of the RCF’s.