All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.

Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby catosim » 10 Mar 2019, 21:17

Hello

I have a audiointerface wich isn´t working properly anymore.
It´s an Echo audiofire 4, firewire interface.
The issue is when using it with Mainstage or Logic, it causes clicks and pops and other noise.
When I increase the buffersize it helps with the noise, but the latency is so big that it´s useless live.
I´ve tried downloading the latest driver/software update but it didn´t solve the problem.
To rule out any hardware/software issues on my macbook, I borrowed another interface; Audient iD4
With this interface everything is back to normal, and I can reduse the buffersize quite heavily.

Does anyone have experience with this interface (Echo Audiofire 4), and maybe know a workaround with the problem?
Last edited by catosim on 10 Mar 2019, 21:18, edited 1 time in total.
Gear: Nord Stage 3, Nord Stage Classic, Nord Lead A1, Yamaha Motif 6, Ensoniq TS12, Roland D50, Korg BX3, Hammond A100, Hammond M100, Yamaha GT2
catosim
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 06 Nov 2017, 22:58
Location: Norway
Country: Norway
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire


Sponsor
 

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby DJKeys » 11 Mar 2019, 00:50

That sounds like it could be a clocking issue. Do you have the clocks (master/slave/bitrate, etc) synchronized between the audio interface and the DAW?

-dj
Last edited by DJKeys on 11 Mar 2019, 00:51, edited 1 time in total.

Nord Stage 3
Nord Lead A1
DSI Mopho X4

The author DJKeys was thanked by 2 members, including:
catosimMr_-G-
User avatar
DJKeys
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: 11 Apr 2011, 17:11
Location: California
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 184 times
Been thanked: 386 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby catosim » 11 Mar 2019, 11:09

DJKeys wrote:That sounds like it could be a clocking issue. Do you have the clocks (master/slave/bitrate, etc) synchronized between the audio interface and the DAW?

-dj


The clock is set to internal on the interface, no other equipment connected (The Nord is connected vis USB to the Macbook).
Tried to change the sample rate to 48K, wich resulted in a bit less pops - but didn´t solve the problem.
Even when i turn buffersize to 512 it pops.
No problems with the other interface even with buffersize down to 32.

I suspect that it may be a software incompatibility issue.
I´m running on MacOS 10.14.3, and the software for the interface is written for OS 10.11.
The download page claims: OUR PRO AUDIO PRODUCTS HAVE BEEN DISCONTINUED; MORE RECENT VERSIONS OF MACOS MAY NOT WORK CORRECTLY.
Gear: Nord Stage 3, Nord Stage Classic, Nord Lead A1, Yamaha Motif 6, Ensoniq TS12, Roland D50, Korg BX3, Hammond A100, Hammond M100, Yamaha GT2
catosim
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 06 Nov 2017, 22:58
Location: Norway
Country: Norway
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby maxpiano » 11 Mar 2019, 11:18

It's possible that the driver doesn't work properly with the latest macOS, have you any chance to test the sound cad with another computer (older Mac or also Windows)?

Other possibility, a faulty firewire cable, can you try a different one?
Last edited by maxpiano on 11 Mar 2019, 11:18, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 2877
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 213 times
Been thanked: 928 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby catosim » 11 Mar 2019, 12:02

maxpiano wrote:It's possible that the driver doesn't work properly with the latest macOS, have you any chance to test the sound cad with another computer (older Mac or also Windows)?

Other possibility, a faulty firewire cable, can you try a different one?


No, only have my macbook.
Also the cable is one of a kind...due to to the ports on the macbook.
First I had to buy a cable with the proprietary appl firewire-plug.
Then later when I renewed my Macbook, I had to buy a firewire to thunderbolt adapter.
Gear: Nord Stage 3, Nord Stage Classic, Nord Lead A1, Yamaha Motif 6, Ensoniq TS12, Roland D50, Korg BX3, Hammond A100, Hammond M100, Yamaha GT2
catosim
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 06 Nov 2017, 22:58
Location: Norway
Country: Norway
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby maxpiano » 11 Mar 2019, 13:22

catosim wrote:later when I renewed my Macbook, I had to buy a firewire to thunderbolt adapter.


That adapter could be part of the problem too, as it may not guarantee the same performance (continuity of data flow) as the "direct" FW; I am afraid you need to look for a more current sound card

PS: there is no proprietary apple FW connector, it is a standard FW 800 so what you have is probably a cable with FW400 on the card side and FW800 on computer side.
Last edited by maxpiano on 11 Mar 2019, 15:02, edited 2 times in total.

The author maxpiano was thanked by:
catosim
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 2877
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 213 times
Been thanked: 928 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby catosim » 11 Mar 2019, 14:37

maxpiano wrote:PS: there is no proprietary apple FW connector, it is a standard FW 800 so what you have is probably as cable with FW400 on the card side and FW800 on computer side.


Yes, you´re absolutely right! It´s FW 800 on computer-side and FW400 om interface.
Anyway, I find it annoying to have to use an adapter for almost any gear I want to connect to my Macbook though.
When you have to spend thousand of §§ on an machine, and then again have to buy adapters for almost everything....

Yep, it appears that the soundcard is looking for retirement.
Probably be looking for an USB card this time.
Firewire used to be the superior connection alternative, but it´s hard to find computers with FW connection now.

:thanx: maxpiano
Gear: Nord Stage 3, Nord Stage Classic, Nord Lead A1, Yamaha Motif 6, Ensoniq TS12, Roland D50, Korg BX3, Hammond A100, Hammond M100, Yamaha GT2
catosim
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 06 Nov 2017, 22:58
Location: Norway
Country: Norway
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby maxpiano » 11 Mar 2019, 15:03

catosim wrote:
maxpiano wrote:PS: there is no proprietary apple FW connector, it is a standard FW 800 so what you have is probably as cable with FW400 on the card side and FW800 on computer side.


Yes, you´re absolutely right! It´s FW 800 on computer-side and FW400 om interface.
Anyway, I find it annoying to have to use an adapter for almost any gear I want to connect to my Macbook though.
When you have to spend thousand of §§ on an machine, and then again have to buy adapters for almost everything....

Yep, it appears that the soundcard is looking for retirement.
Probably be looking for an USB card this time.
Firewire used to be the superior connection alternative, but it´s hard to find computers with FW connection now.

:thanx: maxpiano


You're welcome :-)

Unfortunately Firewire is a "dead" interface, you better go for a USB or Thunderbolt audio interface ;-)
Last edited by maxpiano on 11 Mar 2019, 15:04, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 2877
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 213 times
Been thanked: 928 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby 23skidoo » 11 Mar 2019, 15:54

Thunderbolt is superior to USB as it does not rely on USB bus timing for transfers. USB audio *can* work (and work well) but as the recent debacle with MOTU/RME and other brands having massive issues with the chipsets in the 2016-2018 macs shows, USB is far from bulletproof. Thunderbolt interfaces work across platforms and are well worth the extra money. It's basically encapsulated PCI, so it's quite future-forward too. Unless you're looking in the VERY budget range, you should be able to find a solid thunderbolt interface from MOTU or a similar vendor that's within your price range.

The author 23skidoo was thanked by:
catosim
23skidoo
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 27 Nov 2018, 18:58
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 87 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: Clicks and pops with Echo Audiofire

Postby catosim » 11 Mar 2019, 17:33

23skidoo wrote:Thunderbolt interfaces work across platforms and are well worth the extra money. It's basically encapsulated PCI, so it's quite future-forward too.


I thought I WAS future-minded when I bought my firewire interface in the first place.

Anyway, as far as I can see, Echo is probably not the most innovation-minded brand on the market.
I´ll have a look around and see what shows up among thunderbolt interfaces.
:thanks: Mr. Skidoo
Gear: Nord Stage 3, Nord Stage Classic, Nord Lead A1, Yamaha Motif 6, Ensoniq TS12, Roland D50, Korg BX3, Hammond A100, Hammond M100, Yamaha GT2
catosim
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 06 Nov 2017, 22:58
Location: Norway
Country: Norway
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Next

Return to Accessories and Amplification



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests