Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Direct Access to the available sounds on Nord Electro 6

Postby gmatticari » 08 Jan 2019, 19:04

I have purchased in October 2018 a Nord Electro 6 Keyboard with installed OS v1:18.
I have recently verified the occurrance of an apparent "anomaly". The anomaly consists in the impossibility to directly enter and visualize, on the display, the available sounds list (e.g. pianos, sample synth) without passing through the "program" menu.
Once the keyboard is swithced on and the installed Operating System is uploaded, on the display exclusively appears the "program" menu and, in particular, the last program that has been used before the switching off.
Therefore for selecting and playing, for example, a piano sound it is necessary to address a program containing exclusively a piano sound and then, through the rotation of the piano select knob, select the choosen piano sound.
E.g. if the program A11 Royal Grand 3D is displayed for playing a different piano sound, it is necessary to rotate the piano select Knob, thus entering in the Edit of the program. This is the only way to select and play the various available piano sounds.
The same procedure is necessary to select and play sinth sounds and organ sounds. Therefore for selecting and play, for example, a sample synth sound it is necessary to address a program containing exclusively a sample synth sound and then, through the rotation of the synth select knob, select the choosen sample synth sound.

As far as I can remember this situation has been experienced only after having installed the updated OS that is the OS v1:2. In fact, I have installed the new OS as recommended by the Nord Keyboard Factory. Question: is this situation "normal" with the OS 1:2 or it is an anomaly ? if this is the case, how can I fix the problem

Thanks for any help you could provide on this matter. Best regards Giovanni Matticari
Attachments
Anomalia riscontrata su tastiera NORD Electro 6.docx
This file is in Italian but taken pictures can be of help for helping in the problem understanding and fixing
(1.13 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
gmatticari
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Jan 2019, 17:58
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Direct Access to the available sounds on Nord Electro 6


Sponsor
 

Re: Direct Access to the available sounds on Nord Electro 6

Postby anotherscott » 08 Jan 2019, 20:29

gmatticari wrote:E.g. if the program A11 Royal Grand 3D is displayed for playing a different piano sound, it is necessary to rotate the piano select Knob, thus entering in the Edit of the program. This is the only way to select and play the various available piano sounds.

How is this different from how it worked before you updated the OS?

gmatticari wrote:The same procedure is necessary to select and play sinth sounds and organ sounds. Therefore for selecting and play, for example, a sample synth sound it is necessary to address a program containing exclusively a sample synth sound

Or you could start with, for example, a piano program, turn off the Piano section, and turn on the Synth section. Again, how is this different from how it used to be?

The author anotherscott was thanked by:
gmatticari
anotherscott
 
Posts: 2560
Joined: 07 Jan 2011, 04:50
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 781 times

Re: Direct Access to the available sounds on Nord Electro 6

Postby 23skidoo » 08 Jan 2019, 20:33

1. This is in the wrong forum: should be posted under Electro, not Stage. (Edit: Resolved, thank you admins!)
2. The behaviour you describe is normal, although you're not using it optimally. In any program if you want to get to a different sound simply activate the section you want and choose the sound you want. Deactivate the other section if you don't like it. Or "init" the program to get a clean blank slate and then begin from the sound you desire. Please read the entire manual as it describes the various ways to get (directly or indirectly) to the sound you wish.
Last edited by 23skidoo on 08 Jan 2019, 21:56, edited 2 times in total.
NLA1, NL3, NS3, Prophet Rev2, stack of Elektron, some Moogs, s*** to record with, etc. yadda yadda you know the deal blah blah gear.

The author 23skidoo was thanked by 2 members, including:
gmatticariBerretje
23skidoo
 
Posts: 311
Joined: 27 Nov 2018, 18:58
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 109 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: Direct Access to the available sounds on Nord Electro 6

Postby TomS » 09 Jan 2019, 05:41

A solution in search of a problem,,,,,,,
TomS
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 11 Nov 2010, 06:53
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Direct Access to the available sounds on Nord Electro 6

Postby gmatticari » 13 Jan 2019, 18:48

Thank you for the clarification.
Best Regards
gmatticari
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Jan 2019, 17:58
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6


Return to Nord Electro Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests