General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), and Nord Stage 3 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby kijix » 06 Jun 2018, 04:57

just how in depth is the synth section on the nord stage 3?

is it a full fledged nord lead A1 or is it a watered down version? what is missing / added in the stage version? anyone own both??
kijix
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 15 May 2018, 01:21
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

nord stage synth functionality (A1)


Sponsor
 

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby lvercaut » 06 Jun 2018, 06:21

Hi,

A1 has 4 slots, stage has only 2 (one for each panel) + no like function in stage :thumbdown:
lvercaut
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 Sep 2011, 13:06
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 3

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby analogika » 06 Jun 2018, 08:42

The Stage 3 synth engine is based upon the A1, but it isn't the same.
1) 2 parts (on Slots A & B) instead of 4.
2) Lowpass-highpass combo instead of the TB filter.
3) No ensemble effect, but access to all of the Stage's other built-in effects, including EQs, amp simulator, compressor, delay, etc.
4) higher polyphony on the Stage 3.
5) additional "super wave" waveforms on the Stage.
6) Use of samples as sound source for the synth.
Current gear: analogika hamburg

The author analogika was thanked by:
DJKeys
analogika
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: 21 Nov 2013, 10:02
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 331 times
Been thanked: 583 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby harmonizer » 07 Jul 2018, 18:12

If I buy a Stage 3 Compact, and figure out how to get a "cool synth bass sound" from its A1 capabilities, will I be able to assign that "cool synth bass sound" to a split (part of the keyboard) on the Stage 3? Would I have just as much flexibility in assigning the lower and upper key limits on the Stage 3's keyboard for this "cool synth bass sound", as I would if I were assigning lower and upper key limits for a piano, organ, or nsmp3 sound?

I am a complete newbie regarding the A1 synth and any similar products. I have an Electro 3, but my sound design experience is with a Roland XV rompler.
User avatar
harmonizer
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 25 Dec 2012, 17:10
Location: NJ, USA
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 64 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby maxpiano » 07 Jul 2018, 18:16

harmonizer wrote:If I buy a Stage 3 Compact, and figure out how to get a "cool synth bass sound" from its A1 capabilities, will I be able to assign that "cool synth bass sound" to a split (part of the keyboard) on the Stage 3? Would I have just as much flexibility in assigning the lower and upper key limits on the Stage 3's keyboard for this "cool synth bass sound", as I would if I were assigning lower and upper key limits for a piano, organ, or nsmp3 sound?

I am a complete newbie regarding the A1 synth and any similar products. I have an Electro 3, but my sound design experience is with a Roland XV rompler.


Yes, to both questions, the Synth section is not different from the Piano and Organ ones when it comes to general functions such as zones/splits, effects, etc..
Last edited by maxpiano on 07 Jul 2018, 18:19, edited 2 times in total.

The author maxpiano was thanked by:
harmonizer
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 2497
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 194 times
Been thanked: 817 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby anotherscott » 07 Jul 2018, 18:18

Yes, the key limit assignments are identical for all sound engines. Though if you want to get fancy, you could create a custom nsmp3 sound that had additional split points within it.

The author anotherscott was thanked by:
harmonizer
anotherscott
 
Posts: 2170
Joined: 07 Jan 2011, 04:50
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby anotherscott » 12 Jul 2018, 18:56

analogika wrote:The Stage 3 synth engine is based upon the A1, but it isn't the same.
1) 2 parts (on Slots A & B) instead of 4.
2) Lowpass-highpass combo instead of the TB filter.
3) No ensemble effect, but access to all of the Stage's other built-in effects, including EQs, amp simulator, compressor, delay, etc.
4) higher polyphony on the Stage 3.
5) additional "super wave" waveforms on the Stage.
6) Use of samples as sound source for the synth.

That's a good summary... I'd add that the NS3 gives you aftertouch.
anotherscott
 
Posts: 2170
Joined: 07 Jan 2011, 04:50
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 662 times

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby analogika » 12 Jul 2018, 19:16

No aftertouch on the A1? Wow.
Current gear: analogika hamburg
analogika
 
Posts: 1837
Joined: 21 Nov 2013, 10:02
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 331 times
Been thanked: 583 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: nord stage synth functionality (A1)

Postby alcools » 12 Jul 2018, 21:45

Another difference : The NS3 has only 3 filter drive fixed amount. On the A1, you can adjust it. But for me, if you don’t need the 4 A1 slot, the NS3 synth is deeper than the A1 (effects, samples, superwaves, and the low/high pass combo is marvellous for pad sounds).
Actual synth: Nord Modular G2 ex - Nord Stage 3 compact - DSI Tetra
Before: Nord Lead 3 & 4R, Stage 1&2, Wave, Virus C & Ti, P6 & P12, and few others...
http://exgovernor.fr
User avatar
alcools
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 06 May 2011, 18:12
Location: Paris
Country: France
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 30 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Modular
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3


Return to Nord Stage Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests