Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

Lead A1 Midi Receiving Issues...Help :(

Postby CharlieBroadhead » 06 Jun 2018, 01:30

Hey,

I am trying to send midi from either my mac or OT to my nord lead at via a traditional 5 pin midi cable.

I cant for the life of my work out why the nord won't pick up the midi signal.

Anyone else had this issue? Becoming a real pain now !

Thanks in advance.

Charlie
CharlieBroadhead
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jun 2018, 01:27
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead A1

Lead A1 Midi Receiving Issues...Help :(


Sponsor
 

Re: Lead A1 Midi Receiving Issues...Help :(

Postby starkaudio » 06 Jun 2018, 02:51

Your mac has a five-pin midi out port? Or do you have an interface? Are you running from the outs on the OT (or mac) to the in on the A1?

Are you in performance or program mode on the A1?

Have you checked what your midi receive channels are set to in the midi menu?

Does the midi receive led on the A1 blink when you transmit from the OT or Mac.

Have you read the manuals?
Last edited by starkaudio on 06 Jun 2018, 02:54, edited 2 times in total.

The author starkaudio was thanked by:
Marlowes
User avatar
starkaudio
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 15 Jul 2014, 22:21
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead A1
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: Lead A1 Midi Receiving Issues...Help :(

Postby CharlieBroadhead » 09 Jun 2018, 14:47

Just coming back to your points below @StarkAudio...

Your mac has a five-pin midi out port? Or do you have an interface? Are you running from the outs on the OT (or mac) to the in on the A1?
Running midi from a 5 pin midi cable from my Octatrack to the A1. Also, tried to run midi via the 5 pin midi cable from my interface to the A1.

Are you in performance or program mode on the A1?
I am in program mode and would be using one of the banks or 'slots'. So when I tried last time, I was using bank A or B.

Have you checked what your midi receive channels are set to in the midi menu?
Running the global channel on midi 1 as per the A1 manual. Set the Midi channel on the OT on Track 1 to midi channel 1 as well.

Does the midi receive led on the A1 blink when you transmit from the OT or Mac.
No midi receive led is blinking on the Nord :(

Have you read the manuals?
Yes read both. I had managed to send midi from the Nord to my TB-3 and it worked perfectly, so it must be something to do with the Nord set up!
CharlieBroadhead
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jun 2018, 01:27
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead A1

Re: Lead A1 Midi Receiving Issues...Help :(

Postby CharlieBroadhead » 09 Jun 2018, 14:48

Just coming back to your points below @StarkAudio...

Your mac has a five-pin midi out port? Or do you have an interface? Are you running from the outs on the OT (or mac) to the in on the A1?
Running midi from a 5 pin midi cable from my Octatrack to the A1. Also, tried to run midi via the 5 pin midi cable from my interface to the A1.

Are you in performance or program mode on the A1?
I am in program mode and would be using one of the banks or 'slots'. So when I tried last time, I was using bank A or B.

Have you checked what your midi receive channels are set to in the midi menu?
Running the global channel on midi 1 as per the A1 manual. Set the Midi channel on the OT on Track 1 to midi channel 1 as well.

Does the midi receive led on the A1 blink when you transmit from the OT or Mac.
No midi receive LED is blinking on the Nord :(

Have you read the manuals?
Yes read both. I had managed to send midi from the Nord to my TB-3 and it worked perfectly, so it must be something to do with the Nord set up!
CharlieBroadhead
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Jun 2018, 01:27
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead A1

Re: Lead A1 Midi Receiving Issues...Help :(

Postby starkaudio » 11 Jun 2018, 01:58

Try the simpest connection.
  1. Midi cable from your mac OUT to the A1 IN.
  2. Make sure your software sends to that port on channel 1
  3. On the Nord, set your global channel to 16, set slot a channel to 1.
  4. Test sending notes from your software.

You might have better luck filming a video on youtube of what you set up and what you're trying.
Last edited by starkaudio on 11 Jun 2018, 01:59, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
starkaudio
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 15 Jul 2014, 22:21
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead A1
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1


Return to Nord Lead / Rack Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdamStage2 and 6 guests