Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Midi / local on off ???

Postby Neller » 06 Aug 2011, 14:10

hi just bought my first nord electro and I just want it to work as midi to my garrageband, but how ?
I've figured out that I have to set the local control to off and I have done that and I have a usb to my computer but it dosen't work??
can somebody maybe help me ??
Last edited by Neller on 31 Jul 2012, 12:24, edited 2 times in total.
Neller
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 14:05
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3

Midi / local on off ???


Sponsor
 

Re: Midi / local on off ???

Postby Hanon_CTS » 06 Aug 2011, 15:29

Neller wrote:hi just bought my first nord electro and I just want it to work as midi to my garrageband, but how ?
I've figured out that I have to set the local control to off and I have done that and I have a usb to my computer but it dosen't work??
can somebody maybe help me ??

Hello Neller,
Welcome to the forum!
The Electro 3 (NE3) doesn't provide MIDI over the USB.
The USB is just for uploading/ downloading, backing up the programs, and updating the operating system.
You will need a USB to MIDI interface which starts around $30 "similar to these" : http://www.zzounds.com/cat--USB-MIDI-Interfaces--2434
You don't have to turn Local off unless you just want to disable the keyboard action for some reason. Local off has no affect on whether the NE3 sends or receives MIDI.

Cheers, Hanon
Last edited by Hanon_CTS on 31 Jul 2012, 12:24, edited 2 times in total.

The author Hanon_CTS was thanked by:
Eisenhans
User avatar
Hanon_CTS
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 1934
Joined: 02 Mar 2011, 17:58
Has thanked: 683 times
Been thanked: 446 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Other Brand
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: Midi / local on off ???

Postby Neller » 08 Aug 2011, 14:11

thank's !!! really helpful :)
Last edited by Neller on 31 Jul 2012, 12:24, edited 2 times in total.
Neller
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 14:05
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3

Re: Midi / local on off ???

Postby fransput » 09 Jan 2019, 21:55

hi you all,
My problem is: my Nord electro 3 is my main board and send sometimes MIDIdata to my Korg X5 but sometimes i have to use both on differend way on stage so i have to stop the midi-data to my Korg.
How can I stop temporarily the MIDI data and put it on on my electro 3.
gr Frans Put Rotterdam NL
Last edited by fransput on 09 Jan 2019, 21:57, edited 2 times in total.
fransput
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Jan 2019, 21:42
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: Midi / local on off ???

Postby anotherscott » 09 Jan 2019, 22:41

fransput wrote:i have to stop the midi-data to my Korg.
How can I stop temporarily the MIDI data


Something like this might do the trick for you...

http://www.midi-up.com/products/midi-kill-switch/

You could also run your Korg into a volume pedal, and cut the volume when you don't want to hear it. But depending on wha you're doing, that might not have the exact same effect as cutting the MIDI to the Korg.
anotherscott
 
Posts: 2419
Joined: 07 Jan 2011, 04:50
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 737 times

Re: Midi / local on off ???

Postby fransput » 11 Jan 2019, 21:13

thxs It is very helpfull. :thumbup:
fransput
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Jan 2019, 21:42
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: Midi / local on off ???

Postby Rufus8102 » 12 Jan 2019, 21:55

Fransput....I purchased that exact kill switch that Anotherscott recommended to you. It works great! You just have to be sure that you aren't holding any keys down when you switch it off. If you do, your master keyboard will not send a "note off" message and you will be left with notes still playing on your slave keyboard. Once you get used to it, it's really not a problem.
Rufus8102
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 05 Jan 2013, 02:17
Location: USA
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5

Re: Midi / local on off ???

Postby Eisenhans » 13 Feb 2019, 03:58

I connected my Electro 3 to my laptop (so I can use it as a MIDI controller for GarageBand) using this MIDI-USB interface cable https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000JLU26W/. Thanks to Hanon_CTS for recommending it and thanks to analogika and Ev31cktech for explaining that you need to connect the MIDI IN plug to the MIDI OUT socket of the Electro. D’oh!
Eisenhans
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Oct 2013, 20:57
Country: Austria
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 3


Return to Nord Electro Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests