Effects loop?

General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.
Post Reply
wkrbee
Posts: 57
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 00:40
10
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord C1
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Effects loop?

Post by wkrbee »

Wild shot in the dark. Any way to add an effects loop to the NS3? Can't stand the "Overdrive" but putting a outboard one on the output ends up having it after the Leslie sim. I thought about taking i+2 outputs running to outboard gear and sending it back in the Aux input, but that would probably create a feedback loop. Maybe routing out 3+4 and using the Aux input and having 1+2 as the outputs?
User avatar
WannitBBBad
Patch Creator
Posts: 1816
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 03:36
12
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Has thanked: 1054 times
Been thanked: 1537 times

Re: Effects loop?

Post by WannitBBBad »

Unfortunately there isn't any way to be able to insert an external effect into the signal chain pre-Leslie. If you have a control pedal, maybe try it on the Swell, as the overdrive breakup is more natural. Though post-Leslie, some users also try a combination of overdrive and drive from the EQ section. Good luck.
Last edited by WannitBBBad on 24 May 2023, 23:20, edited 1 time in total.
Nord Stage 3 | SC Prophet T8 | Korg X50... In the past: Nord Stage EX, 2, 2EX | SC Prophet 5, 10 | MiniMoog | Hammond B3 & 122 Leslie | Yamaha DX7IIFD, EX5, CP60 | Hohner D6 | Fender Rhodes | Roland S-50, D-50, XP-50...
User avatar
SuperStage
Posts: 137
Joined: 06 May 2019, 17:14
5
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3
Location: Vancouver
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Effects loop?

Post by SuperStage »

wkrbee wrote:Wild shot in the dark. Any way to add an effects loop to the NS3? Can't stand the "Overdrive" but putting a outboard one on the output ends up having it after the Leslie sim. I thought about taking i+2 outputs running to outboard gear and sending it back in the Aux input, but that would probably create a feedback loop. Maybe routing out 3+4 and using the Aux input and having 1+2 as the outputs?
The AUX IN is always routed to both the headphones and main outputs 1-2. In the NS3 Manual P54, you can assign the organ, piano and/or synth voices to a SUB output 3-4 and then through an effects chain and back in the AUX IN with no feedback loop. I use this to bypass the internal leslie SIM send the organ to output 3 (mono) and into a Hall of Fame reverb and then into a Neo VENT II and back in the AUX IN and out the Main outputs 1 + 2.

Unfortunately "Sounds using the Rotary effect are always routed to outputs 1-2, regardless of Output Routing settings"
SuperStage

Vancouver, Canada
Nord Stage 4 Compact, Nord Stage 3 Compact, Nord Electro 5D, Korg D-1, 1959 Hammond B3, 1965 Leslie 122A
wkrbee
Posts: 57
Joined: 27 Nov 2013, 00:40
10
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord C1
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Effects loop?

Post by wkrbee »

I have been using a GSI Burn which has a tube overdrive and Leslie sim with my old EL2. The Burn is still superior to the NS3 overdrive and Leslie sim. I'll try your suggestion SuperStage
Hlaalu

Re: Effects loop?

Post by Hlaalu »

SuperStage wrote: The AUX IN is always routed to both the headphones and main outputs 1-2. In the NS3 Manual P54, you can assign the organ, piano and/or synth voices to a SUB output 3-4 and then through an effects chain and back in the AUX IN with no feedback loop. I use this to bypass the internal leslie SIM send the organ to output 3 (mono) and into a Hall of Fame reverb and then into a Neo VENT II and back in the AUX IN and out the Main outputs 1 + 2.
Doing this though won't solve the OP's issue, that is having the overdrive pre Leslie. I too route the organ to ch 3 and then send it to a Vent, but I assumed the OP's standpoint is that he wanted to use the internal Leslie sim but an external overdrive before it, and as Wannitbbbad points out, this is not possible.
Post Reply