Everything about the Nord Piano, Nord Piano 2, Nord Piano 3, Nord Piano 4, Nord Piano 5, and the Nord Grand.

Nord Piano 3 vs. used secondhand Nord Piano 88

Postby OldFather » 07 Dec 2017, 14:23

I am looking for an XMas present for my 18 year old daughter. We have a nice piano at home, she's at Uni, and I'm now looking for something transportable which won't take up a lot of space in her room!. It might get carted to a Gig, but I doubt it / not often.

Her primary discipline is Orchestral Percussion (predominantly keyboard percussion instruments), so Piano is more for de-stress and recreation, but she is pretty competent. My thought is to find the best piano-substitute that I can afford, both "touch" and "sound", and as such Synth and so on is not a requirement (well ... I don't think it is :) but I'm a very mediocre musician compared to my daughter).

So a 2nd hand, 5 year old, Nord Piano 88 is a 60% discount compared to a new Nord Piano 3. And I assume I do not even need to think about a Nord Stage.

I've listened to some comparisons of Nord vs. other brands, and to my ear I prefer the Nord. People speak highly of the Touch (of the Nord keys), so I've put it at the top of my list.

But I would appreciate your opinions, both in terms of whether I would lose outon something very desirable (by buying the old model), or whether I should be considering other Brands.
Last edited by OldFather on 07 Dec 2017, 17:01, edited 1 time in total.
OldFather

Nord Piano 3 vs. used secondhand Nord Piano 88

Sponsor

Re: Nord Piano 3 vs. used secondhand Nord Piano 88

Postby lawman » 10 Dec 2017, 01:55