Could someone please explain LIVE MODE??

Everything about the Nord Piano, Nord Piano 2, Nord Piano 3, Nord Piano 4, Nord Piano 5, and the Nord Grand.
piersonplays
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 5

Could someone please explain LIVE MODE??

Post by piersonplays »

Hi!
I am a Nord newbie (just bought a Nord Piano 5). I like the action and sounds- however I find the user interface rather non-intuitive, specifically the question of being able to quickly call up saved programs.

My question is, what is (and why is) Live Mode? The manual explains it as "Live programs are automatically stored. When exiting a Live Program or powering off the machine all edits are saved, without the need for a manual store operation."

It also presents Live Mode as an option to store a program, in addition to the Program Select buttons.

But does anyone know or understand the main reason for Live Mode? It seems to me that we can accomplish calling up stored programs and sounds without it, using the program select buttons and the Pro/Menu dial. Is it a separate sound bank altogether? Does it somehow make it easier to switch between sounds and patches in a live performance (hence the name)?

I'm puzzling about this because I have a gig 2 days from now and I'm trying to figure out the easiest and least-resistance way to store and call up new programs which I will create. If I'm going to use Program Select or Live Mode, I'd rather stick with one or the other. I'm wondering if there is any advantage to either that I'm not aware of.

thanks so much in advance !!

-Pierson
ericL
Patch Creator
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: Could someone please explain LIVE MODE??

Post by ericL »

Programs are most reliable when you can set everything up ahead of time and have them dialed in for your songs. That’s what I use 99% of the time with my NS3.