Silly question - very basic, I'm sure

General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.
seanster
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4

Silly question - very basic, I'm sure

Post by seanster »

Ok, so I'm very new to audio, very new to piano, etc., but just had to have a Nord Stage 4, and now I have one.

I think I've heard music being played on a Stage 4 where background sounds are playing by themselves, not necessarily only when keys are pressed on the keyboard. I'm desiring to know how to initiate backgrounds like that.

Yes, I know that people will be rolling their eyes at me, but I would really appreciate hearing the answer, and if so, how to set up those backgrounds....Even similar to a drum providing a beat, etc.

Thank you in advance!

Sean
FZiegler
Donator
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: Silly question - very basic, I'm sure

Post by FZiegler »

Your Stage 4 is made for being a stage piano. Not so much for being a audio control unit - audio workstations may be better at doing this.

What you can do is inserting a line level audio source to the Line-In 3.5mm stereo jack and routing it directly to main-out. That can be a smartphone, tablet or other audio source. But there are no controls for start and stop on the piano, neither a way to file it through to the effects section. So it's up to you and the external device to 'initiate' the audio.
Stage 3 Compact (Rev.B 2.1 - OS 2.60) - Kawai VPC1 / Yamaha CP33 - Hall of Fame & NeoVent2 - Behringer Flow-8 - K&M stands 18820+18811 / 18953+18952 - Samsung tablet with MobileSheetsPro & AirTurn Duo200 - QSC K8.2s / Fischer InEars
Elias

Post by Elias »