Reverb in samples?

Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.
badorganisf

Reverb in samples?

Post by badorganisf »

Hi, newbie here considering buying a Nord Electro 6D 61. I would mainly be using it to play sampled pipe organ sounds as part of live performances, as a (not cheap) but easy way to accompany choirs in venues with no real organ.

I do this currently using a MIDI controller and software, but the extra setup time and the security concerns of leaving a laptop in the venue during intermissions or before performances is becoming an annoyance.

I have noticed some fairly convincing pipe organ sound packs available on SynthCloud, but in the demos, they all seem to have a lot of sampled reverb, which would obviously not be ideal in live performances use cases.

If anyone has used pipe organ samples with the Electro 6, specifically the Strassburg pack, but any pack will do, can you tell me if the reverb is included in the sample, and if so, if it’s possible to trim the releases to get a dry or mostly dry effect, or if the samples are dry, and what I’m hearing in the demos is being added by the FX module?

Thanks

Ps: I know something like a Viscount Cantorum VI Plus or a Johannes One would be a much better fit for my use case, at about the same price as the Electro 6D, but neither of those are available here in South Africa.
Last edited by badorganisf on 19 Feb 2024, 10:59, edited 1 time in total.
maxpiano
Patch Creator
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: Reverb in samples?

Post by maxpiano »

Hello and welcome to NUF :-)

Are you sure the reverb you hear is in the sample and not in the Program? Synthcloud usually provides both Samples and Programs using them, so I expect the Reverb is added after. Anyway I suggest you write to them and ask directly. :)
Last edited by maxpiano on 19 Feb 2024, 11:36, edited 3 times in total.
vojtech-h
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord C2D