My Nord Pianos sound quite different through audio interface

All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.
ajsomer
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6

My Nord Pianos sound quite different through audio interface

Post by ajsomer »

Hi guys,

Hope you all can help me out as this has been bugging me for a little bit.

I currently have a Nord Piano 5 and a Electro 6. When I plug my headphones (Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohms) directly into the headphone out port of both pianos, I get an unbelievable piano tone that I love. I am a musician that livestreams on Twitch, and I run my set up through an Apollo x 4 with a stereo track for the Piano 5 and mono tracks for both guitar and vocals with the same headphones plugged into the headphone port.

When I'm listening to the piano through the Apollo, it sounds lifeless and dull. I can't really describe what the difference is in any other terms than that. I've tried every combination of Unison preamps/no preamps but I'm not able to get it close to what I hear out of the box with my headphones. I understand that if I was using different output devices I would get a different sound, but I'm using the same headphones but getting such different results.

My initial thought is maybe I need to run the piano through a DI? But would that make such a huge difference in the tone?
maurus
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: My Nord Pianos sound quite different through audio interface

Post by maurus »