This is the right place if your topic concerns different Nord Keyboards, you are not sure which one is the right one for you, etc.

NS 3 88 and Piano 5 at the same price, which one to choose?

Postby sipsip » 25 Mar 2023, 15:36

Hello! First time posting here, hope im in the right section :)

I know this is a common thread, but yea im hesitating betwwen a Nord Stage 3 88 and a Piano 5. I was pretty confident to buy a mint Piano 5 after i tried one at my local store, really enjoyed the keybad and the sound library.

But i found a second hand Nord Stage 3 88 for around the same price.

Im a pianist who do lots of ambient /experimental music, so having a great variety sound at my disposal could really be a great thing, so in this regard the NS3 feels appealing. I cannot be sure about the keybed tho, how would you say it is compared to the Piano 5? Ive tried to gather info about it but it seem that lots of people dont realize that NS 88/73/61 all have different keybeds, so lots of those threads are full of bias. Also i know that ultimately i will be the only one that can really judge according to my personnal feel, but i cant see were i could try a NS3 (the second hand is pretty far away, i cannot go there without knowing if i will get it or not)

Overall, even if i would like having those, i would also say that synths and organs are not my priority, its more about Piano, EPs and Samples (orchestral, plucked, winds, Traditionnal, et..c) and i was wondering if the new sample format could play a role in favor of the Piano 5 here! Also the fact that NS4 is out, and that Piano 5 is pretty new, i guess the best invest/value over time would be the Piano 5

The fact that i can have both at the same price is really the reason im having hard time to decide. Any advices? Thanks :)
Last edited by sipsip on 25 Mar 2023, 15:38, edited 4 times in total.
sipsip

NS 3 88 and Piano 5 at the same price, which one to choose?

Sponsor