Discuss other brands keyboards, synthesizers, modules, software, controllers including how they compare or work with the Nords.

Small but Super

Postby Jazzclimber » 09 Feb 2023, 11:43

Hi You All! A newbie here, with a relatively frivolous question :-)

I got my NS 3 three years ago and I am making a slow but steady progress with my NS3/piano skills - the forums here were tremendously helpful along the way.

I don’t travel too much, but when I do, I would love to continue practicing (without being too obsessive about it :-).

What is the best option for a light and small keyboard/synth that has the best size to quality ratio in your opinion? I’d play with earphones of course, strictly for my own enjoyment

I do travel quite light (usually in Europe, often by train/bus).

Any and all suggestions/advice much appreciated in advance! Cheers!
Jazzclimber

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Small but Super

Sponsor

Re: Small but Super

Postby Spider » 09 Feb 2023, 12:01

For a portable travel keyboard, very often cheap=better.
I'd go with a Yamaha MX-49, or maybe a Roland Go-Piano or Casio CT-S1.
61 keys is probably at the very limit of train/bus portability, supposing you'll also have a backpack or other luggage

The author Spider was thanked by:
Jazzclimber
Spider

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2 EX
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Wave

Postby maxpiano » 09 Feb 2023, 12:46

I'd suggest a master keyboard (probably max 49 keys, for portability) paired with some apps on an iPhone or iPad (if you already have either of the two of course) like Rav275 for piano, VB3m for Hammond, V-Tines or Neosoul Keys or GSi Genuine Sounds Vol1 for Rhodes etc.. (or a combo like the free Numa Player, Korg Module... ), best if the master is low-power and has USB audio capabilities too, like the iRig Keys I/O 49
Last edited by maxpiano on 09 Feb 2023, 15:42, edited 4 times in total.

The author maxpiano was thanked by:
Jazzclimber
maxpiano
Patch Creator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3