Discuss other brands keyboards, synthesizers, modules, software, controllers including how they compare or work with the Nords.

Re: OAP / Elderly / Seniors - Wurli acceptable?

Postby ACCORDIONMAN » 07 Apr 2022, 22:06

FZiegler wrote:
Long answer short: I'd pick EP sounds, maybe from the 50/60ies up to the 80ies if I had to choose - together with AP for some music. And why not an accordion from time to time.

Thankyou - actually accordion is what I use for most gigs, the residents really seem to enjoy it. Today when I took the keyboard, for a short section I played a few excerpt of easy classical (Clare De Lune/ Prelude etc) I was surprised how much they enjoyed that part!
ACCORDIONMAN
Patch Creator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5

Sponsor

Postby Kevinology » 10 Apr 2022, 16:06

Definitely yes. When I was a freshman in Boston, I had a gig with Wuril in a nursing home. they reallly luved it!
Last edited by Kevinology on 10 Apr 2022, 16:07, edited 1 time in total.

The author Kevinology was thanked by:
ACCORDIONMAN
Kevinology

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Grand
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Postby PScooter63 » 10 Apr 2022, 23:26

FZiegler’s comment about “music from their youth” extends beyond what was popular while they were on their prime (e.g., the 60s-70s).
Depending upon their circumstances, growing up, they were probably given a steady diet of what was popular with THEIR parents… and THAT stuck with them too.

Thus, at the retirement homes my band plays at, their favorite repertoire may run from Basin Street Blues, to R&B, all the way to 80s-90s power ballads… and everything in between.

Basically anything popular in the last 90 years is fair game if presented reasonably faithfully… and Cphollis’s remark on evoking memories is spot on. It really is important to stimulate (positive) memories at their ages.

The author PScooter63 was thanked by:
ACCORDIONMAN
PScooter63

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 4