General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Re: Rotor Pedal control

Postby bluetrain » 10 May 2022, 05:21

I am new to the Nord Stage 3 - only a month now. I'm having a little trouble with using the pedal to control the rotors on the nord when plugged into the rotor pedal jack. It used to work and I could just toggle the rotor action with the pedal but now it has stopped working. I think I might have tweaked something but I don't know what. I have looked every place I think is relevant in the owners handbook and youtube but I"m not successful in finding how to trouble shoot.

I know this is an old post, but I have experienced the same thing:
It used to work and now it doesn't. It was only about 2 years old when it stopped working. I made no changes to System Settings or the pedals I was using between the time it worked and the time it stopped working. I have gone into System Settings and attempted using all combinations of Rotor Pedal: Type and Func.

I have also tried 4 different pedals. It originally worked with my Boss FS-6 A/B footswitch. After it stopped working, I tried 2 different sustain pedals, including a Nord sustain pedal that came with the unit. I also tried the Yamaha FC-7 expression pedal, knowing that would be a waste of time. All 4 pedals work as expected in their respective jacks (FC-7 in Control Pedal jack, sustain in Sustain, FS-6 in Program Up/Down).

The only System Settings changes I can seem to make that have any effect on rotor functionality are as follows:
Func: Rotor Hold (which doesn't make sense because it SHOULD BE Rotor Toggle)
Type (scenario 1): Open (makes rotor turn on)
Type (scenario 2): Closed (makes rotor turn off)