General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Used 88HA vs. new Compact

Postby webby99 » 23 Jan 2022, 23:15

Dear Nord-Community,

I am new to the Nord-World and will soon upgrade my rig to a Nord Stage 3, which I am already very excited about. :thumbup: I am now thinking about which version would fit most of my needs. It will either be the 88HA or the 73 Compact. Both options would include me buying a midi controller to fulfill the missing kind of keys (i.e. one with semi-weighted waterfall keys for the synths/organ parts if the 88HA makes it or some fully weighted 88 keys to play the piano stuff if I'd go for the Compact). I currently have a good offer for a second-hand Stage 3 88HA on the table, which I could get for around the same price as for a new Compact. I am hoping that someone would like to share his/her experience and help me decide...

a) which of the above mentioned options makes more sense in the long run (i.e. which of the two is preferable to use as a master-keyboard)

b) which midi-controller would be a good fit for each of the two options

Perhaps someone has recently gone through a similar decision process - I'd love to hear your experiences to help me make the right call (which is quite hard tbh, cause both options have their pros and cons) :)

Many thanks and cheers,
Tim
Last edited by webby99 on 24 Jan 2022, 00:28, edited 3 times in total.
webby99

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Used 88HA vs. new Compact

Sponsor

Re: Used 88HA vs. new Compact

Postby anotherscott » 24 Jan 2022, 03:29

I'd prefer to put a weighted controller under a NS3-Compact. Advantages over the reverse would be:

* easier to carry. You can get a lightweight controller, and then neither of your keyboards has to be heavier than about 25 lbs.

* drawbars for the organ.