Discuss other brands keyboards, synthesizers, modules, software, controllers including how they compare or work with the Nords.

Keyboard for RV travel practice?

Postby Skylight » 28 Dec 2021, 00:10

My NS3C is too big and heavy to take along while travelling in a small RV/caravan (vacations, not gigs). I want to be able to practice (intermediate piano player + keys in a surf rock band). I can't be the only one asking this - does anyone know of a thread on this? Better still - what recommendations do you have? It doesn't have to be perfect as I'm not a professional, but it's nice when it sounds good.
Last edited by Skylight on 28 Dec 2021, 00:59, edited 1 time in total.
Skylight

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Keyboard for RV travel practice?

Sponsor

Re: Keyboard for RV travel practice?

Postby anotherscott » 29 Dec 2021, 15:43

Lots of possibilities. Answers will vary based on things like the minimum number of keys you think you need, whether you're okay with mini-keys, if you want the board to have its own speakers (otherwise you'll also need an amp, or will have to use headphones), what your budget is, whether you want a wide variety of sounds or if just a handful will do (and if the latter, what sounds are most important to you), whether it has to be self-contained or if you'd be okay connecting to something like an iPhone/iPad/laptop... there are so many possible ways to go that it's tough to narrow down suggestions without answers to at least some of those questions.

The author anotherscott was thanked by:
Skylight
anotherscott

Postby ajstan » 29 Dec 2021, 20:42

Check out the $200 Casio CT- S1. I have one and love it. Surprisingly good sound and keybed, compact, light, and runs on 6 AA batteries. Let us know if that meets your needs or if there are additional features you’d like to have. The optional $79 Bluetooth adapter will allow you to stream music from your phone.