Everything about the Nord Piano, Nord Piano 2, Nord Piano 3, Nord Piano 4, Nord Piano 5, and the Nord Grand.

I think a Piano 5 might be my first Nord.

Postby sentionaut » 14 Sep 2021, 07:35

Hello, I'm new to the forum so please pardon any ignorant questions, I'm sure most of them will be.

I've recently gotten into playing keys, originally coming from playing guitar and over the past couple of years I have acquired an OB6 and a Mellotron Micro. I love these both to death, but I find myself wanting to have access to traditional piano sounds along with a larger keyboard.

I'm not a touring musician, I have a small studio at home where I like to record what could be best classified as pop and rock music. I'm still very much a beginner with a keyboard.

There are a few things I am looking for though, and thats where the Piano 5 has popped up in my search. Here is my shortlist of requirements.

1. I'd rather 73 keys than 88 keys as space is of a premium and I'm not going to be playing Beethoven any time soon.
2. I'd like to be able to sell my Mellotron Micro and use the Nord instead for these sounds.
3. I have no interest or need for Organ sounds.
4. I'd like to be able to layer piano and synth/strings sounds and the P5 seems to hit that mark well, I love that I could layer two Mellotron sounds and also have an upright Piano blended with an FM piano at the same time. This is perfect for me!

So I guess my questions are, are there other Nords I should consider? And, will the action on the P5 be counter productive to someone who is still a beginner? I guess an Electro 6 could be okay, but like I said I dont have any need for the organ and I love the 4x layers that the P5 can do.

:thanks:
sentionaut

I think a Piano 5 might be my first Nord.

Sponsor

Re: I think a Piano 5 might be my first Nord.

Postby Tasten-Bert » 14 Sep 2021, 10:30

Hi sentionaut

and a very warm welcome to nord and this great forum full of enthusiasts.