Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

Program Change On Lead A1 and Beatstep Pro

Postby jramboutan » 25 Oct 2020, 17:58

Hello!

Not So Important Intro:
So, I've been using my beloved Nord Lead A1 for about 6 years now. In the past, I was using it to record its audio directly by playing (with my hands on it). I did, on some occasions, sequence it directly from Reason through my audio interface, but nothing really fancy. Then recently, I got Ableton, which (I think) has a much clearer interface regarding the routing of MIDI channels. This led me to experiment with having all four timbres of the A1 sequenced from Ableton with each having their own dedicated MIDI channel. Having not studied in great depth all of the characteristics and nature of MIDI, I can safely say that I am no expert, plus, every device has its own way of dealing with things (although fairly standardized, for the critical parts). I have now bought the Arturia Beatstep Pro, on which I am having a lot of fun, but there are still some details that I am not sure I understand about the way the A1 works regarding MIDI implementation. And for a device as fun as the Beastep, I feel obliged to learn more about it.

Actual Question:
The one thing that I can't figure out is: How do you execute a program change on the A1 using the Beatstep? I seem to understand that you have to sequentially send different MIDI CC with different values, but this is quite obscure for me. Could anyone clarify this? In the manual, it says to send CC00, value 0 + CC32 values 0-7 or CC00, value 0 + CC32, value 0-3 in performance mode.

Now, say that this corresponded to a bunch of CC messages, how would I go about sending all of this from my Beatstep? I can only assign one pad (or knob) to a single CC and with a fixed value.