General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Newbie questions

Postby Jazzclimber » 21 Oct 2020, 13:06

Hello everyone! I am totally new to NS3 (used to play base and violin). Don’t judge the total greenhorn too harshly, - but when I play simple 3-note minor chords in piano settings (good quality earphones) they sound slightly “out of tune”, “flat”.

I checked Fine Tune & it’s 440 & 0 cents.

I realize it’s hard for you to try and troubleshoot a problem without hearing what I’m referring to, but:
Is there a way to check if my new NS3 (a few months old) is “out of tune” or “in-tune”?

Could anyone suggest any other diagnostic first steps?

Being an ER nurse in my other life, I will also strongly consider hearing/mental health check :D

Thank you so much!
Jazzclimber

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Newbie questions

Sponsor

Re: Newbie questions

Postby RichardG » 21 Oct 2020, 16:26

Hi and welcome to NUF !

I've never read anything here relating to the piano being out of tune...
There was a massive discussion about organs but that's another section entirely :D

Make sure you're using a single panel (A or B) so piano's aren't 'stacked' (you can do that with the NS3 as you probably know).
Check if the layer-detune function is off.

You could bring in the synth with a pure sine-wave with no filters whatsoever and they should be pitch-perfect.
Try different piano sounds as well; some have more 'character' than others.

I also read a couple of times here that there are bad adapters for headphones which influence the sound.
If you have another set or can try using speakers that might determine something as well.

Otherwise we have loads of experts here on almost anything so if this doesn't help someone else will !
The following statement is not true. The previous statement is true.

The author RichardG was thanked by:
Jazzclimber
RichardG

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4