All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.

Aspen Pittman Space Station V3 for full (Small) Studio Amp

Postby owrnewbie » 15 Jun 2020, 07:00

Hi folks,

I just registered, my first post. First by way of introduction - I am a brand new owner of an Electro 6D, and am pretty new to keyboards/piano in general. I am primarily a drummer, but after many years of coulda-shoulda-woulda finally decided to start learning (very slowly) piano as well. I started with an older Roland FP-9 I picked up from a buddy, and after a year or so of making sure I was really into it, dived in a few weeks ago and picked up the Electro. Unsurprisingly, many of the keyboardists I gig with play Nords so it was always on top of my list. As I mentioned I am brand new to keyboards more or less and instruments in general that require electrical amplification ;) but am not new to music, the value of getting nice gear from the start, and the amazing resource forum's like this can be. I've spent some time here lurking and reading and thank you all in advance for sharing your knowledge and showing patience with what will undoubtedly be some basic questions from me.

So here's my question. My Electro will be living in a small (8' x 10') home studio I've been slowly building over the last few years. It is very well sound proofed, I can play drums in there at midnight moderately loud without disturbing neighbors, and have enough absorption/diffusion panels inside to sound half way decent. I do a bit of recording in there just for fun, and occasionally jam with a buddy. So far I've just been using some old powered studio monitors or head-phones to listen to the Nord but want to step up my game. After reading the FAQ and many of the threads here I'm real interested in the SSV3. I was hoping you all could advice me if it makes sense for my situation. My needs: