Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Control pedal/volume not functioning with ext keyboard to lo

Postby willycliffton » 31 May 2020, 23:08

Hi
NE6 user
I have a program that has the synth in the lower side of the split with piano in the upper side. I sometimes use the synth section for bass patches and usually have no trouble turning on the control pedal function to control the volume of the bass/synth sound and this works fine when using the nord alone. However, I sometimes hook up a midi controller to set up the "ext keyboard to lo" function and the control/volume has no effect on the synth section. When I set this up in the organ section for a dual manual organ setup the control/volume works fine with the ext keyboard to lo but for some reason I can't get it to function for the synth section.

Any suggestions? I'm probably missing something obvious.
I am still a bit of a novice with working with midi channels and all that, I imagine the solution comes somewhere with that but looking for help. Apologies if this has already come up.
willycliffton

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 2

Control pedal/volume not functioning with ext keyboard to lo

Sponsor

Re: Control pedal/volume not functioning with ext keyboard t

Postby baekgaard » 03 Jun 2020, 20:21

In general, if you're using an external keyboard to play a part, it is expected that the keys, sustain and volume control messages come from there. So if you play another board, you can then use the pedals on that board to control what is being played, and not the internally connected pedals (they will instead control whatever you play on the "hi" part).

Organ is an exception, since the two manuals share the same output chain, which includes the swell pedal (and the same rotary speaker).

Have you tried connecting the volume pedal to your midi controller and make it send the right (control/volume) messages?
baekgaard