Share your Programs/Patches for the Nord Electro Series (Nord Electro, NE2, NE3, NE4, NE5 D/HP/SW versions)
Forum rules
Share your Programs/Patches for the Nord Electro Series : NE, NE2, NE3, NE4, NE5.
When creating a new topic, it's good to add a prefix in you title that mention one of these Electro version,
e.g., [NE4]: Program for Van Halen - Jump

Need Electro 5 piano sound - classic rock

Postby cgids1 » 26 Mar 2020, 22:40

Help! I'm new to the Nord Electro 5 family. I play in a classic rock band. I primarily play piano and organ. Having a hard time finding a piano sound that cuts through. Eg-for the piano intro to Fleetwood Mac Don't Stop I can't find a sound I'm impressed with. I've played with the eq and reverb. What I'd really like to do is layer 2 pianos to get the sound richer and fuller. Sadly that's not in the Nord capabilities. Have I just not found the right piano sound? Any suggestions?
cgids1

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5

Need Electro 5 piano sound - classic rock

Sponsor

Re: Need Electro 5 piano sound - classic rock

Postby cphollis » 26 Mar 2020, 23:33

You *can* layer piano sounds on the E5, up to a point.

There are several simple sampled pianos in the sample library (not the same as the primary piano samples), just layer them up. Try the DX7II sample with Silver Grand, for example. A bit of slow, deep chorus will give you the detuning effect you're looking for. The rest is EQ, compression, reverb etc. Layering in plucked sounds (for example, the newer acoustic guitar samples) gives you a bit more presences as well.

The same trick works well to thicken organ sounds, e.g. layer in a bit of Cathedral Organ with your B3 to get that majestic sound.
Last edited by cphollis on 26 Mar 2020, 23:35, edited 1 time in total.
I think I have gear issues ....
cphollis

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Piano 5

Postby cgids1 » 27 Mar 2020, 07:41