Discuss other brands keyboards, synthesizers, modules, software, controllers including how they compare or work with the Nords.

Recording with Pro Tools

Postby jackwenstrup » 02 Dec 2019, 03:24

Hey everyone,

I am new to recording keyboards into DAWs and have some questions about how to do so. I've read the manuals and other posts I can find about this, but still can't really grasp how to do what I am trying to do. I am using a Nord Stage 3 to record into Pro Tools. My main goal is to record the MIDI data and actual sounds from the Nord into pro tools. This is so I can easily edit/quantize the data, but still use the sound from the Nord and not some VST plugin. Right now I have my Nord plugged into my computer via USB and into my Focusrite 2i2 with an instrument cable. From what I understand I need to record the MIDI data first and then somehow re-record it once it is edited/quantized with the sound I want, but I'm not sure how to do that. Right now I have a MIDI track open in pro tools, which makes it so that I can record my MIDI data and since I also have my Nord plugged into my interface via instrument cable, I am able to hear my track back with whatever sound I have open on the Nord. This is where I am stuck. I want to be able to record that MIDI data back with the Nord sound so that it is actually saved on a track. If I were to turn off my Nord, my MIDI track wouldn't play any sounds back. I may be doing this all totally wrong, but I just can't seem to figure out any way to record audio onto that MIDI track and save it so that if I turn off my Nord, the audio from the Nord is still playing on the audio track. Sorry if this is really confusing, I'm new to recording keyboards with MIDI data.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
jackwenstrup

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Recording with Pro Tools

Sponsor

Re: Recording with Pro Tools

Postby hilbilly parade » 02 Dec 2019, 03:59