General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

First gig with NS3

Postby ericL » 11 Mar 2019, 16:59

Hi forum,

I acquired a NS3 Compact back in January and have spent the past 6 weeks replicating dozens of Programs from my NS2 that I've been using since 2011. I had the NS2 plus Motif XS Rack and am pushing the NS3 to replace both of those pieces of gear. I had a pretty decent gig with it this past weekend. Observations:

- NS3 has a more airy and transparent sound overall - mostly noticeable in the synth and sample section. This is mostly good, but at times I want it to cut and be more prominent in the mix. I believe I can solve for this by programming.
- I had some polyphony issues, I think where I was pushing too many stereo layered samples and synths. I need to go back and refactor a few things.
- The organ sound is surely an improvement and I love the drawbars. I am still using a Ventilator and it really improves the sound overall.
- I have gotten used to the new Setlist and Song approach for arranging Programs, which seems to work pretty well for me as I was able to pretty quickly move and swap things around. I still wish the ABC sorting worked a bit more like the NS2.

Overall, it was a pretty good experience that signaled the need for me to spend even more time getting things just right.

Regards,
Eric
Nords: NE2, NS2 88, NS3 Compact x 2
Live rig: NS3, Vent, Radial KL-8, Shure PSM-900 IEM Rig, UE18 & UE7 IEMs.
Studio: Hammond A-101 & Leslie 122, Yamaha CP-80, Yamaha S90, NS2, DSI Prophet-6, Vent II, Roland JX-8P.

The author ericL was thanked by 2 members, including:
DanielD71pablomastodon
ericL
Patch Creator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

First gig with NS3

Sponsor

Re: First gig with NS3

Postby hernjov1 » 12 Mar 2019, 14:39