This is the right place if your topic concerns different Nord Keyboards, you are not sure which one is the right one for you, etc.

keyboard with computor

Postby Dave Wright » 05 Mar 2019, 14:08

Hi. To say i'm not technically minded is an understatement !!!

I have a Nord Stage Compact 73 ( early model ). The keyboard itself is excellent for what l do.

I would however like to download strings and brass from Nord, but the memory on the instrument is very limited.

A member on the forum did say this was possible and told be that l would need an audio interface. I now have one.

I've read the manual ( over and over ) re Midi and External , but i'm afraid it's way over my head.

Can anybody let me know ( as simply as possible ) what l need to do to take downloads from Nord and use the extra sounds through the interface and into a computor,

which l can then use with the instrument.
Dave Wright

keyboard with computor

Sponsor

Re: keyboard with computor

Postby NoDirection » 05 Mar 2019, 14:27

As far as I know your (original) Nord Stage 1 does not support playing samples, so you have to play them outside your Nord Stage. You can use a program on your computer to load virtual synths with your desired brass sounds and use your Nord Stage as a MIDI controller against your new audio interface (I presume your audio interface got MIDI in) I guess that is what the other member suggested.
Go to a modern music store and get them to demonstrate virtual instruments, then you get the idea if this is what you want... And maybe you also should take a look at the latest Nord Electro
Last edited by NoDirection on 05 Mar 2019, 14:32, edited 2 times in total.
Nord Stage 2 HA76, Nord Electro 6 HP, Yamaha Montage 6

The author NoDirection was thanked by:
Dave Wright
NoDirection
Donator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6

Postby anotherscott » 05 Mar 2019, 15:13