Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

E4 SW73 Transpose clues?

Postby gdermody » 14 Dec 2018, 06:08

Love my Nord Electro 4 SW73... but....
I do not understand the instructions for transposing the key for a song.
SHIFT Program-3 then WHAT do the values in the Up Down mean?
How do you know it worked?
How do you save and exit?
There like 4 lines in the entire manual..
Surely this works!
Gino San Francisco
gdermody

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 4

E4 SW73 Transpose clues?

Sponsor

Re: E4 SW73 Transpose clues?

Postby gdermody » 14 Dec 2018, 08:29

Hey...
I figured it out...
The documentation was just too thin and vague...
I am going to rewrite the instructions and make them more logical for old school musicians like me who learn from examples.
As a programmer, I am impressed with the design algorithm and the keyboard control layout.
It is just very poorly explained, and it is confusing.
It is very easy to transpose a song on the fly for guest singers, and not insulting to anyone's training... especially if you are backing up with complex music like opera.
I can transpose on the fly for POP music easily.
Just try it with a ShowTune that modulates all over the place... why torture yourself...
TRANSPOSE digitally..
-G

The author gdermody was thanked by:
Tracii
gdermody

Postby ozio01 » 14 Dec 2018, 09:45

I am an UX expert and I agree. As I wrote some times ago, at Nord they are great from the sound point of view. Regarding the UI of their keyboards… they have no idea about what usability is.
Last edited by ozio01 on 14 Dec 2018, 09:46, edited 1 time in total.
My instruments:
Nord Electro 3 Seventythree (it was)
Nord Electro 5D 73 (it is)
Motif XF 6
ozio01

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Postby maxpiano » 14 Dec 2018, 10:10