This is the right place if your topic concerns different Nord Keyboards, you are not sure which one is the right one for you, etc.

Will Nord ever release stand alone modules?

Postby paulmapp8306 » 05 Dec 2018, 16:31

Asking this without expecting the answer in truth. Id LOVE an organ module. Basically the organ part of the stage 3 or electro 6d.

Im in need of a really nice organ sound, with drawbars BUT I have no space for another actual board, and both the stage 3 and electro mean loosing other sounds/functionality I have with my existing setup. A nice little box, containing the panel from the stage 3 only would be fantastic. Id pay as much as an Electro 6d costs for that module alone.
paulmapp8306

Will Nord ever release stand alone modules?

Sponsor

Re: Will Nord ever release stand alone modules?

Postby harmonizer » 05 Dec 2018, 16:53

Nord used to sell an Electro 2 module.
Sometimes you can find them for sale used.
I have no knowledge on how good the organ sound was on them.
The drawbars were electronic (similar to what is on the Electro 3 and Stage 2).

Just for fun, here is a thread which discusses someone who made a custom Stage module:
nord-stage-forum-f3/asteroids-papastamatakis-custom-stage-module-t13618.html
harmonizer

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 3

Postby cphollis » 05 Dec 2018, 17:23

I seriously doubt it for many reasons.

First, they've had ample opportunity over the years, and haven't. Second, the market is for stand alone modules is much smaller than complete instruments. Third, it's harder for them to assure a great player experience as they have no idea what people would plug into their modules.

And, finally, the market for stand-alone modules is being eaten alive by software instruments.
I think I have gear issues ....
cphollis

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Piano 5

Postby cphollis » 05 Dec 2018, 17:27