General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

[SOLVED] Outputs 1-2 are 180 degrees out of Phase!?!

Postby gsteiner » 09 Nov 2018, 00:50

Hey Guys... discovered something rather disturbing about my Stage 3... I'm hoping that there is a setting somewhere that is causing this problem:

Output channels 1 and 2 are *180 degrees out of phase* with each other.

I should probably mention that I'm an engineer so I'm pretty well versed with these issues. Below are my troubleshooting steps and how I arrived at this conclusion:

My Setup:

Nord Stage 3, Outputs 1-2 are connected via 1/4" cables to two DI boxes. The XLR outputs of these boxes are fed into a Midas M32 Console (channels 9-10 just for reference). Note: I have tried different DI boxes thinking the problem could be coming from one of the DI's but there was no change.

1. I first noticed that certain piano sounds had some phase issues because we use in-ear monitors, some in stereo and some in mono. The stereo monitors sounded reasonably good, however the mono monitors only had effects (classic sign of phase cancellation.)

2. I placed the NORD in MONO mode. Listening on my stereo monitors, it didn't quite sound right as listening to both output 1-2 (panned hard left) simultaneously sounded slightly different than listening to only the output 1 or output 2 alone (another indication of phasing problems.)

3. I summed Channels 9-10 of the Midas Console to MONO and lost 100% of the sound on ALL patches of the NORD. There wasn't a single sound which could be heard through the console as I scrolled through the patches.