General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Nord Stage 3 Sampling

Postby Jimmy Lange » 08 Sep 2018, 17:43

Hi Friends...please forgive my ignorance, as I am new to NORD products and just now considering the purchase of a STAGE 3 COMPACT to become my easy, single-keyboard gig rig. I wanted to know if I can SAMPLE my favorite YAMAHA MOTIF ( rack ) and ROLAND RD700 ( keyboard ) sounds into the NS3 COMPACT ? Sure would lighten the load, yunno ? Many thanks ! Jimmy
Jimmy Lange

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 3

Nord Stage 3 Sampling

Sponsor

Re: Nord Stage 3 Sampling

Postby Ivan Jochner » 08 Sep 2018, 18:12

Hi,yes you will be able to sample but u have to consider 2 things:
1) 480 Mb memory of samples for NS3
2) There is no such thing like different voice (sample) layers trigerred with different velocities ( like in motif there are 8 elements per voice).

The good things about sampling that Nord Sample editor uses lossless wav compression.

Best regards
Ivan
Last edited by Ivan Jochner on 08 Sep 2018, 18:15, edited 1 time in total.
Patchmaker
Nord Stage 3 Compact /Yamaha Motif XS 7
Yamaha MODX 7 / (past gear) Roland Integra
Ivan Jochner
Patch Creator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Postby baekgaard » 08 Sep 2018, 18:13

You can make your own samples, but they are single layer only (one velocity setting). You can use a filter in the synth when you play them back, so it's possible to not only scale their amplitude but also make high velocity sounds brighter, although it takes a little bit of programming.

Some of your Motif sounds are probably quite complex, and for those, it may be better to try to recreate them in the synth "from scratch" in some cases. You can of course sample the basic tone, but if the tone is set up to respond to modulations, it may not really be possible to get a faithful recreation by simply sampling.