General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), Nord Stage 3, and Nord Stage 4 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Speaker positions

Postby peteques » 24 Aug 2018, 22:46

Hi all,
I'm still new to the NS3 (in fact new to keyboards - have always played acoustic piano) and need help making it sound right. I have L&R M audio B8s set up. They sit about a metre high on L&R of Nord pointing inwards towards the player - but it doesnt sound 'right'. When i go and play on my acoustic piano, it sounds so much better even though its battered, bruised and slightly out of tune. Have I wasted my money on the NS3 or has anyone any better thoughts about speaker position etc.
Thanks Pete :crazy:
peteques

Speaker positions

Sponsor

Re: Speaker positions

Postby cphollis » 24 Aug 2018, 23:15

Think about it this way?

When you play an acoustic piano, sound radiates in every direction, bounces around and hits your ears. It's a surrounding sound for the most part.

When you play through a pair of speakers, the sound radiates in a single direction, like a pair of flashlights. You won't get the same listening experience.

The monitors look decent enough. If it were me, I'd experiment with adding a bit of chorus to get some dimensionality back into the sound. Or try a pair of nice headphones to see what's possible. The Royal Grand, in particular, sounds pretty impressive through headphones.

The piano sounds in the NS3 are among the best available in a keyboard, so that's not your issue.
I think I have gear issues ....

The author cphollis was thanked by:
peteques
cphollis

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Piano 5

Postby Eumel » 24 Aug 2018, 23:21

Hi,

Imho NO ELECTRONIC PIANO in the world can compete with the sound of a natural instrument. I think this is true for all other electronic instruments (e.g.) drums as well.

Greets

Eumel
Nord Stage 4 88
Nord Electro 6 compact

The author Eumel was thanked by:
peteques
Eumel
Patch Creator