All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.

Best home sound setup for casual AP NP3

Postby pianokid1 » 06 Aug 2018, 03:01

I am going to have an NP3 in my small apartment for casual, mostly AP playing. I will usually use headphones, but occasionally I will play with other people (acoustic guitar, singing mostly). For this situation, am I correct in thinking I just need a set of stereo speakers (and not monitors/amps/anything else)? If so, could anyone recommend a good model?

I'm new to all of this sound stuff so I'd appreciate any general guidance in this area.
pianokid1

Best home sound setup for casual AP NP3

Sponsor

Re: Best home sound setup for casual AP NP3

Postby Schorsch » 06 Aug 2018, 08:52

Hi, you would need amplified speakers with line inputs, not just stereo speakers which you usually connect to, let’s say, a HIFI amplifier. I am using a pair of Yamaha MS202 II for such purpose if I don’t have anything else available, not with the NP3 but with other Stage pianos and with my NS3C. Sound is not the very best one but works ok. You may also look for near field monitors like the Yamaha HS8 or Tannoy Reveal 802
Last edited by Schorsch on 06 Aug 2018, 08:54, edited 1 time in total.
Regards Schorsch

Want to convert programs between NS2 and NS3?
Check this awesome website to visually view NS2/3 programs and re-create them on the other instrument!

Gear: NS3C, NS3 88, KeyLargo, Vent II ..

The author Schorsch was thanked by:
pianokid1
Schorsch
Donator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Postby fieldflower » 06 Aug 2018, 10:19

If You have a quality stereo in the same room that has free inputs (not RIAA for vinyl) you could connect to that (probably with the use of some adapters).
Depending on the quality of the stereo it may not give the desired result, but it may be worth a try as it's very cheap to test.
fieldflower
Patch Creator