Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

nla1 midi question with second keyboard

Postby varignet » 23 Jun 2018, 15:58

I have the nla1 and an about to purchase a second 88 keyboard to place underneath.

I was wondering if it was possible ( and easy to achieve ) to play on both keyboards and have some of the synth engines driven from the ext. keyboard, some from the nla1.

specifically, can I play 1 or 2 engines from another keyboard via midi whilst playing the remaining 1-2 engines on the full length of the nla1 keyboard?

even better can I drive 2 of the 4 nla1 synth engines from a second keyboard via midi ( via split point) whilst playing the remaining 2 engines on the nla1 ( via split point )?

as you might have imagined i have no midi knowledge whatsoever :)

many thanks
happy Saturday
Luca
Last edited by varignet on 23 Jun 2018, 16:25, edited 1 time in total.
Nord Lead A1, Korg Trinity 76 Pro, Kawai MP7SE, Guitars, Ukes
varignet

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead A1

nla1 midi question with second keyboard

Sponsor

Re: nla1 midi question with second keyboard

Postby cambe » 23 Jun 2018, 16:41

Dear Luca,

As a fellow A1 owner and keyboard hoader I think I can address some of your concerns.

First of all, the A1 has a very good MIDI implementation (aside from the lack of total thru). Anyway, you can assign a midi channel specifically for each part of the A1. And choose which part to be played by the A1 keyboard by leaving the part chosen lighten up and the parts you want an external midi device to control lighten off.

It is possible to assign a midi channel to B and a midi channel to D. Leave both of the lighten off. Split the keyboard, and play parts A and C while parts B and D are played by external midi.

This is done by not addressing a global midi channel, but by assigning specific midi channels on the midi menu.