All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.

Passive speakers on Nord Piano

Postby cjowin » 21 Jun 2018, 17:08

Hi, I am about to purchase my first Nord piano and have few questions since i am totally new to instrument audio amplifications. I am planning to connect the Nord piano to a pair of passive speakers thru a stereo amplifier that i already owned. Most stereo amplifiers only accepts RCA inputs where there are TS left/right outputs on the Nord piano. The passive speakers unlike powered speakers only take speaker wires from the stereo amplifier and i do not wish to get separate powered speakers for the Nord piano.

1) I assume Nord piano outputs are instrument level instead of line level. If so is the signal hot/strong enough or do i need to get some sort of audio interface to boost it?

2) Can i buy a pair of TS to RCA cables and connect the output straight to the stereo amplifier? Any problems I might face if i do that?

3) I plan to get Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 which have RCA output where i can connect TS to the USB interface and RCA out to the Stereo Amplifier then to the passive speakers. Like question 2 can i just skip the interface and get TS to RCA straight to the Stereo amplifier instead?

If anyone have experience in this feel free to give me some advice. Thanks!
cjowin

Passive speakers on Nord Piano

Sponsor

Re: Passive speakers on Nord Piano

Postby spradders » 21 Jun 2018, 17:11

Hi, I sometimes run my Nord into a hifi amp and speakers, it's fine for home use. I use two cables that are jack to rca, into an aux on the hifi. No issues, it sounds nice.
spradders
Patch Creator

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4

Postby harmonizer » 21 Jun 2018, 17:54