General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX), Nord Stage 2 (EX), and Nord Stage 3 Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby Jo Osantos1 » 26 Feb 2018, 12:55

drraw wrote:I have to concur. The B on my NE5D blows aware the NS3. It is very disappointing, however, I am hopeful that Nord will figure it out for their flagship


I see.. So there's nothing worng with my hears! Damn NORD!

Anyone has a decent B3 sound on the STAGE 3?
User avatar
Jo Osantos1
 
Posts: 185
Joined: 07 Jul 2014, 13:43
Country: Portugal
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 16 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 4

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound


Sponsor
 

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby analogika » 26 Feb 2018, 16:11

drraw wrote:I have to concur. The B on my NE5D blows aware the NS3. It is very disappointing, however, I am hopeful that Nord will figure it out for their flagship

Which firmware version are you running on the Stage 3?

The organ was MUCH improved in 1.32, and the Leslie balance setting is new in 1.36.
Current gear: analogika hamburg
analogika
 
Posts: 1804
Joined: 21 Nov 2013, 10:02
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 323 times
Been thanked: 561 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby anotherscott » 26 Feb 2018, 19:34

I would like to hear someone post an example of the NE5D and NS3 (newest OS) playing the same organ sound, to see what the difference is. (Though you'd have to be sure to not select an NE5D option that simply doesn't exist on the NS3, so we could tell how much is that--with the same settings--the boards sound "different" as opposed to what we know, that the NE5D can get some additional variations that you just can't get on the NS3 (i.e. there are higher leakage and click settings available).
anotherscott
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: 07 Jan 2011, 04:50
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 652 times

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby drraw » 27 Feb 2018, 03:33

1.36 is my firmware version. If I were to try to put the difference in the Hammond sound in words, I would say it just is not as FAT!
User avatar
drraw
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 08 Aug 2015, 01:06
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby Yphs_mst » 27 Feb 2018, 05:03

As someone who just moved from hammond sk1 to nord stage 3, firmware 1.36, i conclude that nord b3 is thin but more aggressive. As mentioned above, not as fat, I agree. I have tried to eq it but in general Ns3 b3 still sounds thin.

The author Yphs_mst was thanked by:
aureliopenna
Yphs_mst
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 04 Feb 2018, 20:06
Country: Indonesia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby cgrafx » 27 Feb 2018, 06:53

If somebody hasn't done it by the time my NS3 arrives (should be in the couple of weeks), I'll do a comparison between my NE5 and the NS3 and post some samples.
Current Gear: NS3C, NE5D 73, Alesis QS6.1, QS7.1 & QS8.2, Hammond B3 with Leslie 122, Yamaha CP70, Yamaha C3 6' Grand
cgrafx
 
Posts: 268
Joined: 22 Aug 2015, 08:48
Location: Northern California
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 73 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby CraigW » 27 Feb 2018, 07:40

randy wrote:We actually really like the B3-Sound :-)

Regards from germany, Randy

Watch on youtube.com


Randy, what are you running the Nord through? Sounds like a real leslie.

The author CraigW was thanked by:
derrellpiper
CraigW
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 14 Oct 2017, 21:54
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby FlametopFred » 05 Mar 2018, 23:13

Is there any way Clavia could update the software on the Nord Stage keyboards so that Leslie/Rotor, Chorus/Vibrato and Perc. were tweakable in the global settings?
User avatar
FlametopFred
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 22 Nov 2016, 10:10
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage EX

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby baekgaard » 05 Mar 2018, 23:27

FlametopFred wrote:Is there any way Clavia could update the software on the Nord Stage keyboards so that Leslie/Rotor, Chorus/Vibrato and Perc. were tweakable in the global settings?


The 1.36 release made it possible to tweak the horn/rotor balance (if that is what you mean). So obviously it was possible for Clavia to add an option to change the balance already.
baekgaard
 
Posts: 611
Joined: 14 Jul 2017, 11:32
Country: Denmark
Has thanked: 257 times
Been thanked: 327 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: Nord Stage 3 - hammond B3 Sound

Postby anotherscott » 05 Mar 2018, 23:47

...and as for other tweaks, nobody but Clavia really knows wha's possible, and even if it is, nobody but Clavia knows if they have any interest in possibly doing it. ;-)
Last edited by anotherscott on 05 Mar 2018, 23:47, edited 1 time in total.
anotherscott
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: 07 Jan 2011, 04:50
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 652 times

PreviousNext

Return to Nord Stage Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: electro832 and 5 guests