Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

Midi in , no sound

Postby joakim » 09 Jan 2021, 14:31

I have an Arturia keystep connected as midi controller to Nord rack 2.
Suddenly there comes no sound when playing the keystep althoug nordrack registers a midi triggered. midi cable Connections are fine.

there is sound when pressing trigger button on the nordrack,
joakim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jan 2021, 14:13
Country: Sweden
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Midi in , no sound


Sponsor
 

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby maxpiano » 09 Jan 2021, 14:43

Have you checked the MIDI Channel settings on both are the same?

PS: hi...
Last edited by maxpiano on 09 Jan 2021, 15:11, edited 1 time in total.

The author maxpiano was thanked by:
joakim
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 4056
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 293 times
Been thanked: 1385 times

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby Tasten-Bert » 09 Jan 2021, 15:58

Hi and welcome to this wonderful forum of nord enthusiasts.

Does „suddenly“ mean that it was to hear before? Perhaps a volume controller signal has been sent with 0? Check the volume at your controller‘s side.

Cheers from Germany and have fun
| nord electro 5D 61 and korg X50 on k&m 18880 or 18950 stand | iPad mini 5 with Set List Maker | phonic AM120 submixer |


... and I loved these of my former stuff: nord electro 3, Roland VR-760, Fatar Studio 1100, korg 01/W, Roland U-20

The author Tasten-Bert was thanked by:
joakim
User avatar
Tasten-Bert
Donator
 
Posts: 395
Joined: 17 Feb 2015, 11:57
Location: Where there is friendship, love and music ...
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 162 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby joakim » 10 Jan 2021, 17:36

Hi and thanks for the replys!
There was sound when playing on the keystep and suddenly the sound stopped although there is a trigger signal registered.
pretty sure both are using midi channel 1 .
And all midi.ch is set to -on
joakim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jan 2021, 14:13
Country: Sweden
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby joakim » 10 Jan 2021, 17:38

----Check the volume at your controller‘s side-----

not sure what you mean here.
joakim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jan 2021, 14:13
Country: Sweden
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby Tasten-Bert » 10 Jan 2021, 20:33

Hi Joakim,
by saying ‘the volume at your controller‘s side‘ I mean any possible volume controller at your Arturia keystep which could be a plugged-in volume- or expression pedal, a hardware poti at the keystep‘s panel or even others. Hopefully you don‘t have a sustain pedal mistakenly plugged into the wrong (= control or expression) socket, do you?
Cheers from Germany
| nord electro 5D 61 and korg X50 on k&m 18880 or 18950 stand | iPad mini 5 with Set List Maker | phonic AM120 submixer |


... and I loved these of my former stuff: nord electro 3, Roland VR-760, Fatar Studio 1100, korg 01/W, Roland U-20

The author Tasten-Bert was thanked by:
joakim
User avatar
Tasten-Bert
Donator
 
Posts: 395
Joined: 17 Feb 2015, 11:57
Location: Where there is friendship, love and music ...
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 162 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby joakim » 11 Jan 2021, 00:27

i see, no external pedals or other stuff :/
So weird
joakim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jan 2021, 14:13
Country: Sweden
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby Tasten-Bert » 11 Jan 2021, 00:35

what is the exact model of your Arturia? And do you perhaps remember your last action before the sound stopped? And - only to cover it once - could a cable from the nord rack to the amp just have got broken?
| nord electro 5D 61 and korg X50 on k&m 18880 or 18950 stand | iPad mini 5 with Set List Maker | phonic AM120 submixer |


... and I loved these of my former stuff: nord electro 3, Roland VR-760, Fatar Studio 1100, korg 01/W, Roland U-20

The author Tasten-Bert was thanked by:
joakim
User avatar
Tasten-Bert
Donator
 
Posts: 395
Joined: 17 Feb 2015, 11:57
Location: Where there is friendship, love and music ...
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 162 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby joakim » 11 Jan 2021, 09:50

Thanks for the reply Tasten-Bert


Thing is that there is sound from the nordrack . when pushing the trigger button it makes a sound. and the demo songs play as should also .

What i did was that i put a guitarpedal on top of/close by the keystep. A memoryman echo . like just for a second, and that was when the sound stopped. Could this thing have affected the keystep maybe? i doubt it , but maybe i should have it checked in the store .....
joakim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 09 Jan 2021, 14:13
Country: Sweden
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Midi in , no sound

Postby maxpiano » 11 Jan 2021, 10:03

Maybe you just pushed a button on the Keystep and changed its mode or something else. Before going to the store, I suggest you to study the Keystep manual, check everything and look particularly for MIDI parameters or "mode" buttons (or any other info, including how to do a Factory Reset).
Last edited by maxpiano on 11 Jan 2021, 10:04, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 4056
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 293 times
Been thanked: 1385 times

Next

Return to Nord Lead / Rack Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest