Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

anyone has Nord Rack 3 parts?

Postby oliverbajza » 25 Oct 2020, 12:48

Hi All!

I know it's a long shot but maybe someone could help!

I have a Nord Rack 3 with some issues, some of the top buttons wont work anymore plus the display shows random characters.
After some fault finding I concluded that the fault is on the Top PCB called LCDpanel V1.1.
It is a long strip of PCB that contains the LCD and the top row of buttons and potentiometers.

If anyone has a Nord Rack 3 that can be used for parts I would like to buy one of these PCBs or if anyone can point me
where I can get one I would appreciate it!!!

Thanks!!!
Last edited by oliverbajza on 25 Oct 2020, 12:49, edited 1 time in total.
oliverbajza
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Oct 2020, 12:16
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Drum 3P

anyone has Nord Rack 3 parts?


Sponsor
 

Re: anyone has Nord Rack 3 parts?

Postby FZiegler » 26 Oct 2020, 00:14

Have you already tried the UK distributor?

Sound Technology plc
17 Letchworth Point / Letchworth Garden City / Hertfordshire SG6 1ND / United Kingdom
Phone: +44 1462 480000
sales@soundtech.co.uk

The next you could ask are synthesizer part retailers or repair shops:
https://www.syntaur.com/ (US)
https://www.synth-parts.com/ (DE)
...
Stage 3 Compact (Rev.B 2.1 - OS 2.54) - Yamaha CP33 - MIDIsolutions Velocity Converter - K&M stands 18810+18811 & 18953+18952 - Samsung tablet with MobileSheetsPro & AirTurn Duo200 - QSC K8.2

The author FZiegler was thanked by:
oliverbajza
User avatar
FZiegler
Donator
 
Posts: 765
Joined: 15 Dec 2019, 02:41
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 227 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: anyone has Nord Rack 3 parts?

Postby oliverbajza » 26 Oct 2020, 14:16

Cheers FZiegler, I've contacted Sound Tech but they haven't replied yet. We'll see.
I also checked those website but they mostly selling buttons and potentiometers,
however I'm going to email them to see if they have any used parts.
oliverbajza
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Oct 2020, 12:16
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Drum 3P

Re: anyone has Nord Rack 3 parts?

Postby 23skidoo » 29 Oct 2020, 00:53

I manually replaced all of the switches on my NL3 with new factory originals. They're an easy part to find from Mouser and much cheaper than at the synth stores. It's not a hard job for someone reasonably handy with a soldering iron. As for the display, that symptom has many causes, could be just the module. They're a little more work to swap out but it can be done (and you can change the colours at the same time if you want). In most cases you shouldn't need a new PCB unless the one you have is physically damaged.
NLA1, NL3, NS3, Prophet Rev2, stack of Elektron, some Moogs, s*** to record with, etc. yadda yadda you know the deal blah blah gear.

The author 23skidoo was thanked by:
oliverbajza
23skidoo
 
Posts: 384
Joined: 27 Nov 2018, 18:58
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead A1

Re: anyone has Nord Rack 3 parts?

Postby oliverbajza » 31 Oct 2020, 16:00

Hi 23skidoo!

thanks for the reply! I wish it would be that easy! The first thing I did is measuring the switches but they all good also the LCD module itself is good as well.
I did reflow all the IC-s so all I can think is that one of the ICs or diodes gone faulty...
oliverbajza
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Oct 2020, 12:16
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Lead 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Drum 3P


Return to Nord Lead / Rack Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests