Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby FZiegler » 04 Apr 2021, 12:03

Tasten-Bert wrote:... just a gut feel. Call it hope.

. . . . . . . . . ^^^

:) Sometimes, we non-native speakers don't pay attention. "Good feeling" was probably meant. "Gut" is "good" in German.

Sorry, Tasten-Bert. I was completely barking up the wrong tree! Thought, it would be one of the cases where one mixes in one similar word from his own language. Didn't know the expression! Thanks, baekgaard, for letting me know! I hate looking like an idiot (even if I am).
Last edited by FZiegler on 04 Apr 2021, 15:49, edited 4 times in total.
Stage 3 Compact (Rev.B 2.1 - OS 2.54) - Yamaha CP33 - MIDIsolutions Velocity Converter - K&M stands 18810+18811 & 18953+18952 - Samsung tablet with MobileSheetsPro & AirTurn Duo200 - QSC K8.2
User avatar
FZiegler
Donator
 
Posts: 837
Joined: 15 Dec 2019, 02:41
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 182 times
Been thanked: 245 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s


Sponsor
 

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby Hlaalu » 04 Apr 2021, 13:18

mmckavanagh63 wrote:even with CC and PC both switched to 'off' the volume pedal is still operating and changing the volume level on the Roland


But when you switch that to OFF are other CC messages being sent as well or only the pedal?

There used to he a bug in the Electro and the Wave 2 (...and the Stage 3, which is still affected) that did the opposite thing: incoming messages weren't filtered even with the setting to OFF. It might be that a similar bug is at play here, namely that all CC messages are sent regardless of that setting.

But if it's just the pedal then it's something else...
Hlaalu
 
Posts: 705
Joined: 13 Jan 2020, 16:05
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 171 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby baekgaard » 04 Apr 2021, 14:18

FZiegler wrote:
Tasten-Bert wrote:... just a gut feel. Call it hope.

. . . . . . . . . ^^^

:) Sometimes, we non-native speakers don't pay attention. "Good feeling" was probably meant. "Gut" is "good" in German.
"Gut feeling" is an English idiom which means intuition in this context, I think

At least that is my gut feeling - my hunch - my intuition ... here :-)

Sent from my phone in brevity

The author baekgaard was thanked by:
FZiegler
baekgaard
 
Posts: 1659
Joined: 14 Jul 2017, 11:32
Country: Denmark
Has thanked: 674 times
Been thanked: 710 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby mmckavanagh63 » 04 Apr 2021, 17:44

Tasten-Bert wrote:Morning, Michael,
yes, it might be, that you‘re dealing with a feature. But if it was mine, I think I‘d give it a try. The update from 2.50 to 2.52 deals with the handling of MIDI program changes OFF and SEND. They don‘t explicitly mention control changes, but as we say in German „one has already seen horses vomit“ it might well be that the update corrects both. I don‘t know, just a gut feel. Call it hope. I keep my fingers crossed.
Cheers


Thanks, i ran the update to 2.52 but still no change to what's happening. Looks like a feature. Not the end of the world as I can work around the limitation, but would have been better if I could find an easy on/off setting.

Thanks again for all your replies.

Btw, I grew up while listening to Made in Japan - one of my favourite albums of all time. The Hammond work of the master Jon Lord is something to be behold!!
mmckavanagh63
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Apr 2021, 12:22
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby mmckavanagh63 » 04 Apr 2021, 17:53

Hlaalu wrote:
mmckavanagh63 wrote:even with CC and PC both switched to 'off' the volume pedal is still operating and changing the volume level on the Roland


But when you switch that to OFF are other CC messages being sent as well or only the pedal?

There used to he a bug in the Electro and the Wave 2 (...and the Stage 3, which is still affected) that did the opposite thing: incoming messages weren't filtered even with the setting to OFF. It might be that a similar bug is at play here, namely that all CC messages are sent regardless of that setting.

But if it's just the pedal then it's something else...


I'm not sure actually, I'm really only using the JDXI as a sound module (playing it from the full sized Nord keyboard) and I haven't tried to control the patches on it from the Nord, as it's as easy to use the control surface on the JDXI directly. There just isn't anything obvious in the menus of either keyboard to stop the volume pedal attached to the Nord from affecting the volume level on the JDXI, and the CC/PC settings seemed to be the best place to look. I'll also confess to not being deeply knowledgeable on midi!!!

Thanks for the reply.
mmckavanagh63
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Apr 2021, 12:22
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby Tasten-Bert » 04 Apr 2021, 18:01

Firstly I must say it’s a pity that I‘ve just realized that this is the same situation with my electro 5D. It should be as it is supposed to be in the NE6: if you switch the setting to „Receive“ then it should not send any volume change. No matter where I put the setting - it sends. I would say it’s a bug. I‘ll send an email to my contact at clavia.

Secondly: yes, Jon Lord is a master above all others for me.

Thirdly: FZiegler, never mind, thank you for your correction. Things like that can happen from time to time. You‘ve contributed so many interesting posts here - I do really look forward to reading more.

Cheers from Germany, and stay healthy everybody
| nord electro 5D 61 and korg X50 on k&m 18880 or 18950 stand | iPad mini 5 with Set List Maker | phonic AM120 submixer |


... and I loved these of my former stuff: nord electro 3, Roland VR-760, Fatar Studio 1100, korg 01/W, Roland U-20

The author Tasten-Bert was thanked by 2 members, including:
mmckavanagh63FZiegler
User avatar
Tasten-Bert
Donator
 
Posts: 420
Joined: 17 Feb 2015, 11:57
Location: Where there is friendship, love and music ...
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 169 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby FZiegler » 04 Apr 2021, 18:13

FZiegler wrote:Maybe you should have a look into different ways of filtering MIDI events. Either by connecting the instruments through a little black box programmed according to your needs (cf. MIDI Solutions Event Processor 2, MOD Devices MIDI Event Filter, MidiTech MIDI Thru 4 / Filter etc.) or by passing MIDI through a DAW or a performer software on a tablet or a computer. Perhaps there's anyone with some experience around.

So we are back to the point where my suggestions would be a momentary solution. I thought that your idea, Tasten-Bert, with updating to FW 2.52 could work - other than for the Stages which aren't handled at all concerning that bug. Sadly, it doesn't.
The "little box" solution is the more secure one as it is programmed in advance and then works for the next 2 years (or so); whereas the "smart device" solution with a computer or a tablet connected in between would be the more flexible solution as you can change settings during a performance.
Stage 3 Compact (Rev.B 2.1 - OS 2.54) - Yamaha CP33 - MIDIsolutions Velocity Converter - K&M stands 18810+18811 & 18953+18952 - Samsung tablet with MobileSheetsPro & AirTurn Duo200 - QSC K8.2

The author FZiegler was thanked by:
mmckavanagh63
User avatar
FZiegler
Donator
 
Posts: 837
Joined: 15 Dec 2019, 02:41
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 182 times
Been thanked: 245 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby mmckavanagh63 » 04 Apr 2021, 19:00

Tasten-Bert wrote:Firstly I must say it’s a pity that I‘ve just realized that this is the same situation with my electro 5D. It should be as it is supposed to be in the NE6: if you switch the setting to „Receive“ then it should not send any volume change. No matter where I put the setting - it sends. I would say it’s a bug. I‘ll send an email to my contact at clavia.

Secondly: yes, Jon Lord is a master above all others for me.

Thirdly: FZiegler, never mind, thank you for your correction. Things like that can happen from time to time. You‘ve contributed so many interesting posts here - I do really look forward to reading more.

Cheers from Germany, and stay healthy everybody


Thanks, I'm (sort of) glad it's not only me who has the issue!!!

Maybe a further software update (following your email to your contact at Nord) will fix the problem. Thank you for doing that.

Thanks again for all your help.

Let's hope we can all get out playing live very soon!!!
mmckavanagh63
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Apr 2021, 12:22
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby mmckavanagh63 » 04 Apr 2021, 19:01

FZiegler wrote:
FZiegler wrote:Maybe you should have a look into different ways of filtering MIDI events. Either by connecting the instruments through a little black box programmed according to your needs (cf. MIDI Solutions Event Processor 2, MOD Devices MIDI Event Filter, MidiTech MIDI Thru 4 / Filter etc.) or by passing MIDI through a DAW or a performer software on a tablet or a computer. Perhaps there's anyone with some experience around.

So we are back to the point where my suggestions would be a momentary solution. I thought that your idea, Tasten-Bert, with updating to FW 2.52 could work - other than for the Stages which aren't handled at all concerning that bug. Sadly, it doesn't.
The "little box" solution is the more secure one as it is programmed in advance and then works for the next 2 years (or so); whereas the "smart device" solution with a computer or a tablet connected in between would be the more flexible solution as you can change settings during a performance.


Thanks, I will have a look at those options.
mmckavanagh63
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Apr 2021, 12:22
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Re: How do I prevent volume pedal on Nord affecting midi'd s

Postby Hlaalu » 04 Apr 2021, 22:20

FZiegler wrote:updating to FW 2.52 could work - other than for the Stages which aren't handled at all concerning that bug. Sadly, it doesn't.


If the issue is on PC and CC sending, this may be a separate bug altogether. The one you are referring to here, which affected the E6 and the W2, and still affects the S3, was about receiving messages. And this one has been fixed for the Electro and the W2, so if the OP is experiencing this kind of problems it means indeed that's a different bug... That's why I wondered about CCs other than the pedal being sent or not.

Something seems to be off with MIDI in general on the last generation of Nord keyboards, both in terms of capabilities (with respect to older models) and and in terms of bugs. A byproduct of the new chip?
Last edited by Hlaalu on 04 Apr 2021, 22:22, edited 2 times in total.
Hlaalu
 
Posts: 705
Joined: 13 Jan 2020, 16:05
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 171 times
Been thanked: 137 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

PreviousNext

Return to Nord Electro Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cookie and 8 guests