Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Half Moon Switch is Loose

Postby UpTop » 15 Apr 2021, 05:55

Hello everyone. I just got a Nord half moon switch ($$) and screwed it into my E6D and noticed it doesn't seem to fit very well. It's loose even though the screws seem to be tightened all the way. I could probably get some rubber washers or something to tighten it up, but I wanted to check this forum and see if anyone else has had this problem and what they did to fix it. Some posts show that it might need to be screwed in REALLY tight, but I'm not about to try that without asking someone else haha.
UpTop
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Apr 2021, 02:44
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Half Moon Switch is Loose


Sponsor
 

Re: Half Moon Switch is Loose

Postby AllanH » 15 Apr 2021, 07:12

I experienced the same when I hooked up the half-moon switch to the Electro 6D. The problemn can easily solved like you suggest.
I manufactured some cloth washers by folding some cotton material over a few times and then punching a hole through the middle for the screws to go through. And as you suggest , I try not to overtighten the 2 screws.
cheers, Allan :thumbup:
AllanH
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 00:33
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Country: Australia
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6

Re: Half Moon Switch is Loose

Postby FZiegler » 15 Apr 2021, 09:58

I find this bizarre. The halfmoon switch is not a cheap item, and I'm glad it fitted like a charm into the holes of my Stage 3. There was no need to tighten anything up.

Already made me wonder to hear from members of this forum who got their HMS without the screws. Have you got the right screws along with your switch? Mine look like this:

HMS - Screws.jpg
HMS - Screws.jpg (224.25 KiB) Viewed 640 times
Last edited by FZiegler on 15 Apr 2021, 10:07, edited 1 time in total.
Stage 3 Compact (Rev.B 2.1 - OS 2.54) - Yamaha CP33 - MIDIsolutions Velocity Converter - K&M stands 18810+18811 & 18953+18952 - Samsung tablet with MobileSheetsPro & AirTurn Duo200 - QSC K8.2
User avatar
FZiegler
Donator
 
Posts: 765
Joined: 15 Dec 2019, 02:41
Country: Germany
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 226 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: Half Moon Switch is Loose

Postby AllanH » 15 Apr 2021, 14:14

yes, mine looks the same. Fitting to the E6, I found that I needed to add a little padding next to the thin plastic washers... (about 2mm) in order to have it securely mounted without a rattle.
AllanH
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 00:33
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Country: Australia
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6

Re: Half Moon Switch is Loose

Postby UpTop » 16 Apr 2021, 06:54

FZiegler wrote:I find this bizarre. The halfmoon switch is not a cheap item, and I'm glad it fitted like a charm into the holes of my Stage 3. There was no need to tighten anything up.

Already made me wonder to hear from members of this forum who got their HMS without the screws. Have you got the right screws along with your switch? Mine look like this:

HMS - Screws.jpg


Funny you should mention about the HMS arriving with no screws. I think I posted something in E6D forum about it, but the first one I bought from Guitar Center indeed had no thumbscrews. I reached out to Nord support and they emailed right away that it should have the screws attached. They also provided a link to Sweetwater for the same switch, which is the one I have now. It's strange that the one I got from GC was in a cheap plastic bag with a bar code label on it, but the one from Sweetwater was in a Nord box. When I returned the switch from GC, they said they had 0 in stock in the USA, so I probably got the very last one and it was junk.

The one in your picture is exactly the one I got, and rather than try to tighten the piss out of it like some others have suggested, I'm going to add some washers like AllenH. It's really a shame the fit is so poor for such an expensive item, but it feels like it's screwed in all the way and I'm not going to wrench on it. Thank you for the replies.
UpTop
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Apr 2021, 02:44
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Re: Half Moon Switch is Loose

Postby UpTop » 20 Apr 2021, 07:33

Four tiny neoprene washers costing $1.35 did the trick. Thanks again everyone!
UpTop
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Apr 2021, 02:44
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6


Return to Nord Electro Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests