Everything about the Nord Electro 2, Electro 3, Electro 4, Electro 5, and Nord Electro 6.

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby mattsitc » 11 Jul 2020, 03:30

I have a 6D as well, about a year and a half old, that just started experiencing similar malfunctioning button issues. The STORE/STORE AS button is temperamental and so are the OCTAVE UP button on the Synth side & the SHIFT/EXIT. I feel the same way, the keyboard is to new for something like to happen. I don't get it..right now the only way to remedy it is by powering down & powering up again...If it truly is a cold solder issue, I need to send this to the US distributor in California for repair? That's nuts...I live in NYC...just venting here, but anyone out there want to talk me off the ledge..lol
many thanks
Mattk
mattsitc
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 07 Sep 2018, 15:50
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D


Sponsor
 

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby LuboW » 11 Jul 2020, 15:05

Dear Lunarproductions, have you found any resolution for that issue? I have just found the same issue on my Stage 3. Warranty expired 3 weeks ago. Very annoying. :-(
Thanks
LuboW
LuboW
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Jun 2018, 23:39
Country: Slovakia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby Hlaalu » 11 Jul 2020, 15:56

I'll be honest, I have owned a Nord for half a year only, but I still haven't been able to figure out whether Nord keyboards have a lot more of this kind of hardware problems, as compared to other brands, or if it's just that the people who post are the ones having issues with their gear.
It is a bit worrying at times to keep hearing about things like this.
Hlaalu
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 13 Jan 2020, 16:05
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 132 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby baekgaard » 11 Jul 2020, 16:19

Hlaalu wrote:I'll be honest, I have owned a Nord for half a year only, but I still haven't been able to figure out whether Nord keyboards have a lot more of this kind of hardware problems, as compared to other brands, or if it's just that the people who post are the ones having issues with their gear.
It is a bit worrying at times to keep hearing about things like this.


Probably the most likely explanation is that people with problems post; those without don't usually tell their boards are still working well :-)

I have multiple Nord boards and they've never had any HW issues (my NE3 is around 10 years old by now). Both my Roland and Yamaha boards have had issues with e.g. the keys and the buttons.

The author baekgaard was thanked by:
Hlaalu
baekgaard
 
Posts: 1650
Joined: 14 Jul 2017, 11:32
Country: Denmark
Has thanked: 670 times
Been thanked: 706 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 3

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby Hlaalu » 11 Jul 2020, 20:56

That's comforting to hear :D
Hlaalu
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 13 Jan 2020, 16:05
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 132 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby Lunarproductions » 13 Jul 2020, 07:56

Sweet my distributor is going to look at it for no charge , even despite being past warranty period. Will update the forum with what the issue was when I get my keyboard back. Ironically I played it today and none of the issues were present. Makes me think the problem is a lose connector or cold solder and is an intermittent issue. Hopefuly it happens again before I send it off so I can get a video of issue , if they cannot replicate it
Lunarproductions
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 25 Jun 2019, 14:39
Country: New Zealand
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 6

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby LuboW » 13 Jul 2020, 15:43

Hello,
I found "sophisticated" resolution for that issue. Restarts and FW update did not help. Still I was not able to get out from any menu by Exit button. Afterwards I re-connected all pedals, pushed each button, turned each knob and problem disappeared. Since that action everything works normally. I expect the issue was not caused by Shift/Exit button itself.
Happy again.
LuboW
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Jun 2018, 23:39
Country: Slovakia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby AllanH » 14 Jul 2020, 09:33

:keyboard:
LuboW wrote:Hello,
I found "sophisticated" resolution for that issue. Restarts and FW update did not help. Still I was not able to get out from any menu by Exit button. Afterwards I re-connected all pedals, pushed each button, turned each knob and problem disappeared. Since that action everything works normally. I expect the issue was not caused by Shift/Exit button itself.
Happy again.


this shows the great value of this forum ! someone/somewhere comes up with a solution. Hope this works for the OP :D
cheers from Australia
( PS fortunately, I've never had any such issues... maybe because I regularly unplug and replug cables )
Last edited by AllanH on 14 Jul 2020, 09:45, edited 1 time in total.
AllanH
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 31 Jul 2018, 00:33
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Country: Australia
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Piano 3
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby NolaNord504 » 22 Jul 2020, 23:31

This is a known issue that others here have experienced. I had similar problems with my Electro 6. It turned out that some of the buttons were bad and just needed to be replaced. It's an easy fix assuming you have a local dealer who can get the parts and can make the repair. In my case, it was the octave buttons on the synth section and also the percussion harmonic switch. Once a button goes bad, the resulting behavior can vary. For me, they still mostly worked and the problems were intermittant, but playing hard or just tapping on the top of the board could cause an octave shift in the synth section. On gigs, vibrations from other loud instruments were enough to cause my perscussion to toggle on and off (thereby causing the board to go into edit mode). Sounds crazy, I know. My local Nord dealer replaced the broken buttons and so far everything has been fine. If you search, you can find other posts I've made about this. It's disapointing to see quality issues considering how solid Nord has been over the years (especially since prices have steadily increased). The first sign I remember was when they switched from using high quality metal pots to the cheaper plastic ones (with much less resistance) starting with the Electro 5. Nevertheless, I still love my Nords and would not want to swap them out for anything else.
-Brian
Stage 2 HA76, Electro 6D 73
Gone but not forgotten: Stage 76 (Classic), Electro 2 73, Electro 3 73, Electro 5 HP
NolaNord504
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 19 Aug 2013, 21:42
Location: New Orleans, LA
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6

Re: buttons not working ,electro 6D

Postby Fsanro8 » 04 Aug 2020, 09:41

I had the exact same problem. Button operation errors. I sent it to the technical service, they changed it for a new nord but a while later I had the same problem again. I decided to open it and with a simple cleaning of the board it was requested. I live near the coast and I think that the errors can be caused by the condensation that takes place inside the nord together with the accumulation of dust and dirt. Just try to open it and wipe with a cloth on the electronic board corresponding to the buttons. Excuse me for my English. I hope to be helpful.
Fsanro8
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Aug 2020, 09:28
Country: Spain
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Nord Electro Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests