This is the right place if your topic concerns different Nord Keyboards, you are not sure which one is the right one for you, etc.

Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

You may select 1 option

 
 
View results

Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby Johannes » 09 May 2014, 22:45

Hi,

I know this question has been discussed on several forums over and over again, and basically, it depends.
But I thought it could be interesting to have opinions of members around here.

So: Do you prefer to run your (Nord) keyboards in Mono or Stereo to the FOH?

The question does (obviously) not address earphones, nor your personal monitoring or monitors or amp at home, which in many cases might be stereo. Rather I would like to know your preference for the feed you give to the PA system in public.

Feel free to comment your personal opinions and experiences or thoughts!

I switched to mono some years ago, but it seems that almost every doung guy assumes and prepares two DIs for the keyboards run in stereo.

The author Johannes was thanked by:
anotherstate
User avatar
Johannes
Administrator
 
Posts: 2077
Joined: 05 Mar 2009, 01:04
Location: Milano
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 689 times
Been thanked: 765 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Other Brand

Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?


Sponsor
 

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby Frantz » 09 May 2014, 22:54

lol, I'm the second vote. We are 2. It's 50% - 50% now.
That's a training session for European Elections (polls) in 2 weeks.

=> The NS2 is paned full left and full right on the console.
=> I use only 1 DI , a stereo DI, it's a "Samson S.Direct Plus".
http://displaychord.arfntz.fr
A mobile app to display chord names while you play, using midi / bluetooth connection.
User avatar
Frantz
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 2235
Joined: 30 Apr 2011, 13:12
Location: ♫♪ earth ♪♫
Country: France
Has thanked: 473 times
Been thanked: 531 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2 EX

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby Cute James » 10 May 2014, 02:52

Mono, largely because I use a single pre-amp to boost the gain.
I actually purchased two identical units (replaced the stock valves), with a view to running them in stereo for live playing, but in reality it's too much effort to adjust left and right levels in real-time.

If a cheap stereo pre-amp was available, I'd almost certainly opt for a stereo signal into the PA.

Cheers,
James
x
My mind says Kawai, but my heart says Nord.
Cute James
 
Posts: 358
Joined: 01 May 2011, 08:13
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Country: Japan
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 3

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby shark » 10 May 2014, 09:15

Stereo. The B3 needs it! Obviously you need a good PA and soundman to get it right.

The author shark was thanked by:
anotherstate
User avatar
shark
Donator
 
Posts: 342
Joined: 27 Mar 2011, 11:31
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 4

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby maxpiano » 10 May 2014, 09:18

Stereo, though sometimes I set the Mono on the NS2 for pianos to cut through better on some PAs or alternatively I ask the mixer-man to reduce the L-R spread; but synth sounds, EPs with Chorus and last but not least B3 w Leslie do need Stereo!
PS: I also usually have a (mono) monitor close to me, which of course receives L+R from the mixer.
Last edited by maxpiano on 10 May 2014, 09:21, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 3830
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 275 times
Been thanked: 1290 times

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby Mr_-G- » 10 May 2014, 10:25

Same as maxpiano: stereo with a mono monitor. but the amped monitor is just playing one channel (i.e. NS2 right channel goes directly to the mixer, NS2 left channel goes to the monitor which has a recording output and from there to the mixer). Glorious sound.
User avatar
Mr_-G-
Moderator
 
Posts: 3965
Joined: 18 Aug 2012, 16:48
Has thanked: 1152 times
Been thanked: 1047 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby fabiokey » 10 May 2014, 15:42

Hi everyone!!
I.M.H.O. the nord , especially for piano , has to be STEREO....
everytime I have to put it mono , (sometimes in small gigs , lack of DI box or lack of channels ecc....) it doesn't sound so good....EVEN with mono output option activated....
let's say that the difference between mono and stereo , expecially in piano sounds , in my experience is BIG , while with other keyboards (yamaha roland ecc) is not so noticable...
for organ in my opinion is a bit different
I used to have stereo piano - stereo organ ( 2 stereo outputs) with bass from another device...
now I use stereo piano , mono organ and mono bass , all separated for F.O.H. and the organ works good even in mono...
but maybe is just becouse my main instrument is piano , I use organ just to....... sound bigger in the chorus....so it can work... :-) :-)
hope it helps
Fabio
Nord Stage 3
fabiokey
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 194
Joined: 20 May 2010, 02:46
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 71 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby Rusty Mike » 10 May 2014, 21:09

Mono, mostly because I'm too lazy to carry the stuff to play in stereo. I also think it's lost on the audience, making it not worth the effort in my eyes.
Mike from Central NJ, USA
Tools: Ten fingers, two feet, middle-age brain, questionable judgement and taste
Nords: Stage 2EX 76 HP, Electro 6D 73

The author Rusty Mike was thanked by:
anotherstate
User avatar
Rusty Mike
 
Posts: 647
Joined: 08 Nov 2011, 21:57
Location: United States
Country: United States of America
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 314 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2 EX
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 6

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby CTL073 » 10 May 2014, 21:18

Stereo. But FOH doesn't pan it 100% left-right to get a better sound on large stages.

Sorry about my English...
CTL073
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 May 2014, 20:21
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage EX

Re: Do you play live in Mono or Stereo?

Postby DoctorC » 11 May 2014, 19:59

I play in stereo at home via monitors, but I use a single amp/speaker on stage (a Yamaha StagePas 250).
I don't select the mono button on the NS though, because I am connected to the amp's mixer via the stereo inputs on one channel. I am aware the output is obviously in mono, but I am hopeful that the sound is closer in quality to the stereo sound than it is when you select 'mono' (I hope that makes sense!).
Paul

Stage EX Compact
User avatar
DoctorC
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 30 Nov 2009, 15:31
Location: Chippenham, Wiltshire
Country: Great Britain
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage EX

Next

Return to General Nord Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hlaalu and 14 guests