need help choosing a Nord model

This is the right place if your topic concerns different Nord Keyboards.
asenicz

need help choosing a Nord model

Post by asenicz »

Hi,
I have been playing classical piano for years but am new to the world of keyboards. I've been playing in a band for about a year and using a friend's cheap yamaha. After doing several shows and some recording in the studio, I'm ready to move up to something better. Nord looks like a great option for live playing, but since I'm new to keyboards I'm having trouble figuring out what I need. Basically, I want something that can split easily, with something like a string bass or picked bass for the bass, and then be able to quickly alternate between piano/strings/organ/etc. for the upper split section. I understand that I can download various sounds from Nord, but want to be sure that I can split easily, and also quickly alternate sounds for the upper voice. It would also be nice to have something I can grow into as I learn more about the functions available. It seems like some Nord models only let you split with a single sound on both sides (E.g. organ) which wouldn't work for me.

(I've also been advised that it's better to use two separate keyboards for bass/piano so I can use two amps with different settings, and I've played double keyboards a few times, but I don't think I have the $ for that, unless I just keep using the cheap yamaha I have now for the bass sound.) I play in a band with just 1 guitar & drums + keys, so try to keep up a consistent bass line in addition to chords/melodies in the piano.

I appreciate any help, sorry to be so ignorant on the topic!

Thanks,
Angela
stiiiiiiive
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Modular
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 4

Re: need help choosing a Nord model

Post by stiiiiiiive »

There is nothing to feel sorry about, come on :)