We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience. If you "ACCEPT" setting, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Accept
General Discussion of the Nord Stage (EX) and Nord Stage 2 (EX) Synths, FAQ, Troubleshooting etc.

Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby jaapb » 11 Jan 2017, 21:26

Hello,

Does anybody knows if the half moon switch will work on the NS2 ?
It doesn't matter if only slow and fast will work.

I'm thinking of buying a half moon switch and putting it with magnets on the front of my NS2.
Or mounting it on the NS2 like this: nord-electro-forum-f9/installing-nord-half-moon-switch-on-electro-4-sw73-t6559-10.html

Thanks a lot for your reactions
Jaap
User avatar
jaapb
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Jan 2014, 22:41
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage Classic
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?


Sponsor
 

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby smcelyea » 11 Jan 2017, 21:49

I was thinking about using heavy duty Velcro. (If the half moon switch will work)... also thinking about trying the Half Moon (CU-?) model that HAMMOND uses for the XK3c. Somebody told me the Nord Half Moon switch did not work. I have NOT verified any of this yet, but I really miss my Half Moon switch for the speed control.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The author smcelyea was thanked by:
jaapb
User avatar
smcelyea
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 14 Jun 2015, 04:35
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby Spider » 12 Jan 2017, 01:17

I have the Hammond CU-1 half moon and just tried it on my Stage2.
It works, with a few tweaks. It only switches between slow(stop) and fast, it will not operate the Stop Mode switch.

And you have to go to the System Menu and set :
Rotor/Latch Pedal Type to Closed
Rotor/Latch Pedal Func to Rotor Hold

My guess is that the Nord (or any other) half moon will work the same, with the possibile exception of the open/closed setting
Last edited by Spider on 12 Jan 2017, 01:20, edited 1 time in total.

The author Spider was thanked by:
jaapb
User avatar
Spider
 
Posts: 352
Joined: 06 Nov 2012, 12:26
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 100 times
Been thanked: 162 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead 1/2/2x

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby jaapb » 12 Jan 2017, 09:55

Oké thanks a lot Spider for trying that out!
User avatar
jaapb
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Jan 2014, 22:41
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage Classic
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby FlametopFred » 12 Jan 2017, 21:36

wow - those are expensive.

I would pay $80 to $100 for those. But over US$250 is getting up there. Good looking product though.
User avatar
FlametopFred
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 22 Nov 2016, 10:10
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2 EX

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby jaapb » 13 Jan 2017, 10:13

FlametopFred wrote:wow - those are expensive.

I would pay $80 to $100 for those. But over US$250 is getting up there. Good looking product though.


I pay 80 euro for a used one. Also very expensive but I like to have a half moon switch from Nord.
A new switch will cost here in holland about 150 euro.
User avatar
jaapb
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Jan 2014, 22:41
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage Classic
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby maxpiano » 13 Jan 2017, 11:20

You could buy also one of Crumar's Half Moon switches (65€ New) from http://www.myrigshop.com (and rewire it, if needed, to make it work with NS)
Last edited by maxpiano on 13 Jan 2017, 11:21, edited 2 times in total.

The author maxpiano was thanked by:
jaapb
User avatar
maxpiano
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: 27 Jun 2011, 13:29
Location: Italy
Country: Italy
Has thanked: 148 times
Been thanked: 572 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby Berretje » 13 Jan 2017, 14:43

jaapb wrote:
FlametopFred wrote:wow - those are expensive.

I would pay $80 to $100 for those. But over US$250 is getting up there. Good looking product though.


I pay 80 euro for a used one. Also very expensive but I like to have a half moon switch from Nord.
A new switch will cost here in holland about 150 euro.


Or when you are good with soldering electronics, you can make it yourself!
topic11516.html

I've made one (my brother helped my with the soldering) myself using the scheme's that Steven has provided in the topic.
Works like a charm!

Gr
Bart
~ "That organ isn't humming; it's just on." ~

The author Berretje was thanked by:
jaapb
User avatar
Berretje
Patch Creator
 
Posts: 444
Joined: 09 Nov 2013, 00:48
Location: Eindhoven
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 180 times
Been thanked: 124 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Electro 4

Re: Nord half moon switch for Nord Stage 2 (NS2) ?

Postby jaapb » 26 Feb 2017, 17:00

User avatar
jaapb
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 05 Jan 2014, 22:41
Country: Netherlands
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage Classic
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Stage 2


Return to Nord Stage Forum



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest