All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.

Troubleshooting Audio Quality via Interface

Postby Apollo64 » 29 Nov 2017, 17:15

Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to Nord. I love my new Stage 2 EX, but one thing I've been frustrated with is when I want to play it through my studio monitors; I'm not getting great audio quality. At first I thought this might have been the interface I had with my computer. It was a TC Electronic Impact Twin but I recently replaced that with something higher quality - an Apollo Twin Duo Mk2. I don't understand how the audio quality is degraded so much in comparison to playing the Nord with my headphones vs. using the Ch1 out to an interface. It's really no different than with the TC Electronic. I've used the Nord at some live gigs before where I've plugged into the house mixer and it sounds great coming off the monitors. I've thought "Maybe it's just because I'm in a larger environment and they have bigger monitors than what I have in my studio?" But even if I connect my same headphones to the jack of the interface it's so much less clear than directly into the Nord's headphone jack. It doesn't make sense to me why this should be such a lousy signal. I get a better sound if I just connect the MIDI USB and play virtual instruments but I want to play the Nord sounds. Any tips/suggestions to help me understand this and fix it?
Apollo64

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 2 EX

Troubleshooting Audio Quality via Interface

Sponsor

Re: Troubleshooting Audio Quality via Interface

Postby cphollis » 29 Nov 2017, 20:48

One suggestion would be to back off on your input levels to the audio interface. Many are intended for mic level inputs vs. hot line levels coming off the Nord. This would cause the sound to distort and saturate.
I think I have gear issues ....
cphollis

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Piano 5

Postby Apollo64 » 30 Nov 2017, 06:32