All topics involving amplification and other accessories you are using with your Nord, and how all those things work together.

Re: Gear Alert: new QSC K8.2

Postby randomwalker » 28 Nov 2017, 10:14

Thanks for great thread.

Question to cphollis: in other/older threads I believe you have said good things about the RCF HD12-a.
Do you have an opinion of K8.2 vs RCF HD10-A Mk4 (which I guess is the most comparable model. TT08 is out of my price range).

When asking the sound guy he just said "QSC and RCF are both good at what they do, but if you want good AP sound on stage you need to go in-ear". (Which is tempting for some gigs but not so much for big band, jam sessions or small gigs with just piano+vocal)

randomwalker
(Roland RD-2000, Nord Electro 4D)
randomwalker

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 4

Sponsor

Postby cphollis » 28 Nov 2017, 13:58

Sorry, I have no direct experience with the RCF HD10-A Mk4. It looks reasonable on paper, though.

In-ear is great, no doubt. But if you want others to hear you ...
I think I have gear issues ....
cphollis

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 4
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Piano 5

Postby upbeat » 22 Jan 2018, 19:25

This is a great thread guys!

I'm right now looking for a PA solution with good quality sound to cover pianos, acoustic guitars, sax and the ocassional vocalist. I feel that the K8s would be a good fit, but I wonder how they compare to systems like the Bose L1 compact, Turbosound ip1000 or the likes. Has anyone had a chance to try these?
upbeat

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Electro 5

Postby ajstan » 23 Jan 2018, 00:24

I'm also interested in comparisons between the QSC K8.2 and the Bose L1 Compact, as I already have an L1c and am considering adding a single K8.2 as an alternative for practice and to use as a monitor at gigs.