Everything about the Nord Piano, Nord Piano 2, Nord Piano 3, Nord Piano 4, Nord Piano 5, and the Nord Grand.

Nord Piano 2 Advice

Postby teletext45 » 05 Oct 2017, 19:08

HI All, I'm a classical pianist and my current electric piano has given up the ghost. With this in mind I'm looking at a replacement. I'm interested in a Nord due to array of historical instruments including the harpischords.

Unfortunately I don't quite have a budget for the Piano 3 but have been looking at a piano 2. Can you advise if these are compatible with all the current sounds available on the website? As I don't want to get one and it become defunct quickly. Also how does the piano 3 fair as a piano for a pianist? Or is it more of a stage instrument?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Andrew
Last edited by teletext45 on 05 Oct 2017, 19:08, edited 1 time in total.
teletext45

Nord Piano 2 Advice

Sponsor

Re: Nord Piano 2 Advice

Postby themixtape » 13 Oct 2017, 23:52

Yes, the NP2 can use the entire Nord Piano Library, and the Sample Library, too. In my opinion, well worth it. The 88-key one can be found for $1800 used, frequently. The NP2 73 is a great option to consider for weight/space... sadly they don't make a 73-key NP3.

But yeah, I dig it a lot. And it's definitely compatible. You'd be surprised just how many pianos you can fit in, with 500MB. Use the mediums. The L and XL variations sound fine but for most purposes, the Medium sized samples sound the same (at least to my ears). I've played the exact same thing using M, L and XL, changing with one button press (same piano, such as the Italian Grand or whatever)... and as long as string resonance and acoustics are set to "on", it's hard to tell the difference.
------------------------------------------------------
http://www.chriscaulder.net
http://patreon.com/chriscaulder
-------------------------------------------------------
themixtape

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Stage 3

Postby themixtape » 13 Oct 2017, 23:54