Nord's classical Virtual Analog Synth Nord LEAD 1/2/2x/3/4/A1 and Nord Rack versions

NL4: Non-linear pitchbend response?

Postby cube48 » 15 Dec 2016, 09:07

Hi all, newbie here at the forum. I just got 2nd hand NL4 rack to accompany Linnstrument. Knowing it doesn't respond to Aftertouch, I still thought it's other features might outweigh the lack of it (morph impulse, easy velocity and modwheel assignment etc.). From the first moment I loved the sound of it and overall hands-on approach.
But then I discovered that pitch bend range is not linear for settings of 12 and above. Which is a bummer for Linnstrument's horizontal pitch sliding. It's possible to specify the PB range on Linnstrument in steps 2, 3, 12 and 24 semitones. Every other synth responds with linear PB and aligns with Linnstrument's setting when set to the same value. NL4 PB matches with setting of 2 and 3 but 12 and 24 becomes useless as it is non-linear. :( First octave slide is really 'slow' and then it progresses really 'fast' in second octave (setting of 24). I have no such issue with Nord Modular G2 Engine, which behaves as expected and utilize all Linnstrument's control sources incl. release velocity :thumbup:

Can someone please confirm if this is really like that and it's not just mine unit? Is it another 'musical' feature of Clavia? I gathered from various posts over net that people like Clavia's pitch stick for it's unique response. Is it because of this non-linearity?

I feel little disappointed about it (but not frustrated) and if my assumption gets confirmed I'll probably sell NL4r and try to find NL3r which has even more MPE friendly features and comes from the same design team as NM2 so it should have more standard pitchbend response.

Thanks for any insights!
cube48

Your Nord Gear #1: Nord Modular
Your Nord Gear #2: Nord Lead 4

NL4: Non-linear pitchbend response?

Sponsor

Re: NL4: Non-linear pitchbend response?

Postby Muied Lumens » 15 Dec 2016, 14:28